Dr. D.L.N. Rao

Born in Pulletikurru, East Godavari District, Andhra Pradesh, India on 26 November 1954. Educated at Andhra Education Higher Secondary School, New Delhi, 1961-70; Deshbandhu College, University of Delhi, 1970-73; Indian Agricultural Research Institute, 1973-78; B.Sc. 1973; M.Sc. 1975; Ph.D. 1979; Commonwealth Scholar at Biological Laboratory, University of Kent at Canterbury, England, 1986-87; Visiting Research Fellow at Deptt. Of Biological Sciences, Wye College, University of London, UK, 1995; Visiting Research Fellow, Deptt. Of Biological Sciences, University of Sussex, UK, 1995.

Former ICAR-Emeritus Scientist, IISS, Bhopal; Independent Researcher and Advisor

Scientist, 1978-84, Central Soil Salinity Research Institute, Karnal; Senior Scientist, 1984-98, Project Coordinator, AICRP on Biological Nitrogen Fixation, 1998-2004, Head, Division of Soil Biology, 2005-06, and Director (Acting), 2003, IISS, Bhopal; Principal Scientist and Project Coordinator of All India Network Project on Soil Biodiversity-Biofertilizers, Indian Institute of Soil Science, Bhopal, 2004-16. ICAR-Emeritus Scientist, IISS, Bhopal 2017-2020; Adjunct Professor, RVSKVV, Gwalior. 2019-20.

Awards/Honours: 12th International Congress of Soil Science Commemoration Award 2000; FAI Silver Jubilee Award of Excellence for Biofertilizer Research, 2002; Dr. R.V. Tamhane Memorial Lecture Award, ISSS, 2007; Prof. S.K. Mukherjee Memorial Lecture Award, ISSS, Kolkata, 2015; Dr. M.V. Shantaram Memorial lecture Award, ISSS, Hyderabad, 2016; Councillor, ISSS, 1994-95; Editor, Journal of the Indian Society of Soil Science, 1998-99, 2001 to 2006; Editor, Indian Journal of Microbiology, 2006-11; Editor, Agropedology, 2005 -2008; Editor, Journal of Indian Society of Coastal Agricultural Research, 2004. Vice-President, Indian Society of Agricultural Resource Management, 2003-04, Member, Rajasthan Soil Health Improvement Task Force, 2012; Consortium Leader India-UK Nitrogen Fixation Centre (Newton-Bhabha Fund) 2016-2019. Member, Research Advisory Committee, National Bureau of Agriculturally Important Microorganisms, Mau, 2011-14, 2014-16. Member, QRT, NBAIM, Mau, 2017-18; Member-Secretary, QRT,AICRP on Biological Nitrogen Fixation 1999, Member-Secretary, QRT, Indian Institute of Soil Science, Bhopal, 2012; Member, Institute Management Committee- NRC on Weed Sciences, Jabalpur, 2001-04, 2004- 07; Indian Institute of Pulses Research, Kanpur 2006-09; NBAIM, Mau 2007-10; NRC on Seed Spices, Ajmer, 2008-11. Advisor, UGC Program, Deptt. of Microbiology, 2002-03; Advisor, Deptt. of Biotechnology, 2005, Barkatullah University, Bhopal, Member, Programme Advisory Committee (AMAAS), ICAR-NBAIM, Mau, 2020-, Member, Asian PGPR Task Force, 2020- .

Fellow: Indian Society of Soil Science.

Research Areas: Soil Microbiology, Biological Nitrogen Fixation, Biofertilizers, Organic Farming, Soil Health

Address: HIG-H/383, Ayodhyanagar, Bhopal 462041, M.P.; [Tel: Cell: 9303129740; Email: dlnrao.icar@gmail.com]