Prof. Debi Prasad Ray

Born on Paralakhemundi, District Ganjam, Odisha on 15 August 1949. Educated at Ispat Vidyalaya, Rourkela, Odisha, 1962-1966; B.Sc. (Ag) OUAT Bhubaneswar, 1967-1971; M.Sc (Ag. Hort), Calcutta University, Kolkata, 1973-1975 and Ph.D. Calcutta University, Kolkata, 1981

Principal Advisor, Siksha `O' Anusandhan University (A Deemed to be University of UGC), Bhubaneswar, Odisha, 2013 to date.

Associate Professor, Horticulture, 1981-1989; Associate Director of Research, 1989-1997; Professor & Head, Department of Horticulture, 1997-2003; Dean of Extension Education, 2002-06, Registrar, 2005-06, and Vice-Chancellor, OUAT, Bhubaneswar, 2006-12.

Awards/Honours: Samaikya Bharat Gaurav Satkar 2007, Madras Telugu Academy, Chennai; Kadali Puraskar, 2009, NRC for Banana, ICAR; Dr. M.H. Marigowda National Award, 2009-2010, UAS, Bangalore; Honoured with Col Commandant Rank by Ministry of Defence, Government of India, 2009; Think Odisha Leadership Award for Educational Institute of Excellence as a Vice-Chancellor of State Universities, 2010; Life Time Achievement in Vegetable Crops 2011, Indian Society of Vegetable Science, Varanasi; Life time Contribution for Promotion of Agriculture Science 2011, Indian Science Congress, Orissa Chapter, Bhubaneswar; Shivashakti Life Time Achievement Award 2012, Horticulture Society of India, New Delhi; Amit Prabhudh Manishi Award, 2014, Confederation of Horticulture Association of India;, Senior Scientist Award 2016,Odisha Bigyan Academy, Govt. of Odisha, Bhubaneswar, Recognition Award for Committed Contribution in the field of vegetable Research & Education for 2019, Indian Society of Vegetable Science, Varanasi. Former President, Indian Society of Vegetable Science, Varanasi and Agriculture Society of India, Kolkata, Former Vice-President of Horticulture Society of India and Confederation of Horticulture Association of India, New Delhi.

Fellow: Horticulture Society of India, New Delhi, 2005; National Academy of Biological Sciences, Chennai, 2007; AIPUB, Tiruchirapalli, Tamil Nadu, 2007; Indian Society of Vegetable Science, Varanasi, 2010; Confederation of Horticulture Association of India, New Delhi, 2012; Odisha Environment Society-2017.

Research Areas: Enhancement of fruit & plantation crops; Orchard efficiency management, Varietal and Nutritional improvement, water management, propagation techniques, high density, feeder root distribution and post-harvest management of tropical & subtropical fruits and vegetables.

Address: HIG-105, K-5, Kalinga Vihar, Bhubaneswar 751019, Odisha; [Tel: Res. (0674) 2475093; Cell: 9437040057, 7381036054; Email:]

Member Executive Council 1 Jan, 2016 to 31 Dec, 2018