Dr. Vijay Singh Tomar

Born in Morena, Madhya Pradesh, India on 1 July 1946. Educated at Higher Secondary School, Dharmgarh, 1959-62; College of Agriculture, Gwalior, 1962-66; College of Agriculture, Jabalpur, 1966-68; G.B. Pant University of Agriculture & Technology, Pantnagar, 1968-73; B.Sc. (Ag) 1966; M.Sc.(Ag) 1968; Ph.D. Soil Science & Agricultural Chemistry 1973; Post Doc Fellow, International Rice Research Institute, Manila, Philippines, 1978-80.

Assistant Professor, 1972-77, and Associate Professor, Soil Science, 1977-85 GBPUAT, Pantnagar; Professor, 1985-96, and Head, Department of Soil Science, 1992-96 JNKVV, Jabalpur; Founder Director, Centre of Advanced Studies, Soil Science, 1995-96, Dean College of Agriculture, Sehore, 1996-2001; Director Extension Services, 2001-03; Director, Research Services, 2003-08, Director Instruction, 2002-2003 and Dean, Faculty of Agriculture, 2004-08, Jawaharlal Nehru Krishi Vishwa Vidyalaya, Jabalpur; Founder Vice Chancellor, Rajmata Vijayaraje Scindia Krishi Vishwa Vidyalaya, Gwalior, 2008-12; Former Vice Chancellor, Jawaharlal Nehru Krishi Vishwavidyalaya, Jabalpur, 2012-17. Currently, Member, ICAR Outcome Review Committee for XII Plan Period and Current Phase, April 2017- March 2020; Member, ICAR Modal Act for Higher Agricultural Institutions; Chairman, ICAR Peer Review Team of SAU and other agricultural colleges of private Universities; Member, Academic Council, RLBCAU, Jhansi; Emeritus Professor, Indira Gandhi Tech. & Medical Science University, Arunachal Pradesh; Member, Board of Management, RVSKVV, Gwalior. Member, General Body of the ICAR Society, 2015-18; Indian Agricultural University Association, Secretary General 2017, Treasurar 2016 and Member Executive Committee 2015; Chairman, ICAR QRT on Pulses; Chairman, Research Advisory Committees, ICAR Directorate of Soybean Research, Indore, 2014-17 and ICAR Indian Institute of Soil Science, Bhopal 2010-11 and 2011-14; Member, Governing Body of Atal Bihari Vajpayee Institute of Good Governance & Policy Analysis, 2015-16 to 2017-18; Member, General Body of Atal Bihari Vajpayee University of Hindi 2015-16 to 2016-17; Member, Board of Governance, Mahatma Gandhi State Institute of Rural Development 2012-13 to 2017-18; Court of the Indira Gandhi National Tribal University, Amarkantak 2014-17; Chairman, ICAR QRT on IISS, Bhopal including AICRPs on Soils (2017-19).

Awards/Honours: Jawaharlal Nehru Award of ICAR 1974; Golden Jubilee Best Agriculture Scientist Honour 1997 (MP); Biennial Best Krishi Vigyan Kendra Award of ICAR 2002; Agriculture Scientist Honour 2007 (SBI); Bhoomi Nirman Award 2007; Best Agricultural University Vice Chancellor Award, AIASA, 2015; Life Time Achievement Award, GBPUA&T, Pantnagar, 2015; During my tenure as Vice Chancellor, JNKVV received the Mahindra Samridhi National Agriculture Education Award, 2015 being the National Winner; Honourd for most impactful contribution in agriculture development of the State by Chief Minister, Madhya Pradesh, 2016; Indian Society of Soil Science Dr. R.V. Tamhane Memorial Lecture, 2005 and Dr. N.S. Randhawa Memorial Lecture, 2017.

Fellow: Indian Society of Soil Science; Academy of Science, Engineering and Technology; Honorary Fellow, Range Management Society of India

Research Areas: Soil Science, Soil Health Management, Irrigation Management, Soil Physics/Soil Technology, Agricultural Research, Extension and Education Administration

Address: H.No. DH 33A, Deendayal Nagar, Gwalior 474020, M.P.; [Tel: Cell: 8319911688, 9425155585; Email: vijays1946@gmail.com; vst.gwalior@yahoo.com]