Dr. Madan Kumar Jha

Born in Rasiary, District Darbhanga, Bihar on 25 December 1965. Educated at Rajendra Agricultural University, B.Tech. (Agricultural Engineering) 1990, Asian Institute of Technology (AIT), Bangkok, M.Eng. 1992 and Ehime University, Japan, Ph.D. 1996.

Professor (HAG), Indian Institute of Technology (IIT) Kharagpur, 2016 to date.

Research Associate, Asian Institute of Technology (AIT), Bangkok, 1992-93; Water Resources Engineer, Panya Consultants Co. Ltd., Bangkok, 1996-97; JSPS Research Fellow, Kochi University, Japan, 1997-99; Assistant Professor, IIT Kharagpur, 1999-2004; Assistant Warden of B.C. Roy Hall of Residence, IIT Kharagpur, 2002-04; Associate Professor, IIT Kharagpur, 2004-10; Professor, IIT Kharagpur, 2010-16; Prof.-in-Charge, Examination, IIT Kharagpur, 2013-16; Vice-Chairman, GATE-JAM, IIT KGP, 2017-19; Chairman, GATE-JAM, IIT KGP, 2019-20; Chairman, CELC (Commercial Establishment & Licensing Committee), IIT Kharagpur, 2018-20; Chairman, KNCC (Kazi Nazrul, Community Center), IIT Kharagpur, 2018-20.

Awards/Honours: University Gold Medal, 1990; JSPS Fellowship, 1997-1999; Distinguished Services Award, 2001; Best Paper Award, 2002; ISTE National Award (First Prize) for the best M.Tech. Thesis supervision, 2003; Humboldt Fellowship, 2004-2005; International AMA-Shin-Norinsha-AAAE Young Researcher Award, 2005; Outstanding Book Award, 2007; Shankar Memorial Award, 2008; Associate Editor of "International Agricultural Engineering Journal", 2008-2012; JSPS Invitation Fellowship, 2009; K.C. Das Memorial Award, 2009; Assistant Managing Editor of "Journal of Spatial Hydrology", 2010-2012 and Editorial Board Member, 2005-2009; Editor of "Journal of Environmental Protection", 2010 to date; Editor of "Journal of Water Resource and Protection", 2010 to date; Associate Editor of "Journal of Agricultural Engineering", 2010-2012; Prof. S.C. Puranic Award, 2012; Commendation Medal, 2013; Banabihari Mohanty Memorial Award, 2013; International Reviewer for the "National Commission for Scientific and Technological Research (CONICYT)", Chile, 2013-2018; Outstanding Book Award, 2014; Best Paper Award, 2014; Best Poster Award, 2015; K.C. Das Memorial Award, 2015; Executive Editor-in-Chief of "International Agricultural Engineering Journal", 2012-2016; Associate Editor of "Hydrogeology Journal", Springer, 2012-2016; Best Paper Award (First Prize), 2016; Member of Research Advisory Committee (RAC) of ICAR-Indian Institute of Water Management (ICAR-IIWM), Bhubaneswar, Odisha, 2015-2018; Associate Editor of "Groundwater Resources and Management" (specialty section of "Frontiers in Environmental Science" journal), 2016-2020; Member, Board of Governors (BOG), Darbhanga College of Engineering, Darbhanga, Bihar, 2017-2020; Team Award, 2017; Best Paper Award, 2018; Associate Editor (EBM) of "Scientific Reports", Nature Research Journal, 2018 to date; Smt Savitri Chadha Memorial INC IAH Award for Excellence in Ground Water Science, 2020.

Fellow: Institution of Engineers India (IEI), Indian Association of Hydrologists (IAH), Indian Water Resources Society (IWRS), and Indian Society of Agricultural Engineers (ISAE)

Research Areas: Water Management; Basin-wide Simulation and Optimization Modeling; Rainwater Harvesting and Artificial Recharge; Conjunctive Use Planning; Seawater Intrusion; Application of AI/ML Techniques in Groundwater Hydrology; Climate/Socio-economic Change Impacts on GW and SW Systems; Application of RS, GIS and MCDA Techniques for Integrated Planning and Management of Water Resources

Address: Professor (HAG), Agricultural and Food Engineering Department, IIT Kharagpur, Kharagpur 721302, W.B.; Qtr. A-182, IIT Kharagpur Campus, Kharagpur 721302, W.B; [Tel: Off. (03222) 283116; Res. (03222) 283117; Cell: 9434722570; Email: madan@agfe.iitkgp.ac.in; kumar.madanjha@gmail.com]