Prof. Premananda Das

Born in Kendapara, Odisha, India on 6 November 1942. Educated at Bun Behari High School, Kujang, Odisha, 1955-61; College of Agriculture, Odisha, 1961-65; Calcutta University, 1966-68; B.Sc. 1965; M.Sc. 1968; Ph.D. 1980; D.Sc. 2012.

Chairman, The Science Foundation for Tribal and Rural Resource Development, Bhubaneswar, Odisha, 2008 to date.

Associate Director of Research, Orissa University of Agriculture & Technology, Bhubaneswar, 1985; Director, Regional Plant Resource Centre, 1985-2002; INSA Senior Scientist, G.M. Reddy Research Foundation, Hyderabad, 2003-04; Department of Biotechnology, IIT, Kharagpur, 2004-06; Project Director, M.S. Swaminathan Research Foundation, Jeypore, 2006-07.

Awards/Honours: Samant Chandrasekhar Award (1992) by Odisha Bigyan Academy; ICAR National Professor (2001); Life Time Achievement Award (2011) by Indian Association of Ornamental Horticulture; Dr. Mopuri Brahman Memorial Award (2011) by Orissa Botanical Society; D.Sc. (h.c.) (2012) by Orissa University of Agriculture & Technology, Bhubaneswar.

Fellow: Indian National Science Academy; National Academy of Sciences, India; The Horticulture Society of India; Society of Ethnobotanists, India; Indian Society for Ornamental Horticulture.

Research Areas: Biotechnology of Horticultural Crops, Biodiversity Conservation, Mangrove Biology, Restoration Ecology in Mined Land, Biomass Production on Wastelands, Biofuels

Address: Chairman & Director, The Science Foundation for Tribal & Rural Resource Development, C-122 (HIG), State Housing Board Colony, Baramunda, Bhubaneswar 751003, Odisha; [Tel: Off. (0674) 2355505; Res. (0674) 3552860; Cell: 9437007970, 7978157944; Fax: (0674) 2355505; Email:;]

Member Executive Council 1 Jan, 2001 to 31 Dec, 2003; Dr. K. Ramaiah Memorial Award 1999-2000