Dr. Banawari Mishra
Fellow, Elected 2008

Born in Varanasi, India on 14 April 1947. Educated at Varanasi High School, 1962; I.Sc. (Ag), 1964; Kanpur University, 1969; Kurukshetra University,1985; Intrnational Rice Research Institute IRRI, Philippines, Post Doctorate, 1988-90; UK, Research Fellow, 1995; IRRI, Philippines, Visiting Scientist, 1997.

Independent Consultant (Nationanal and International) 2012 to date

Principal Scientist (Plant Breeding), 1986-2000, and Head, Crop Improvement Division, 1987-2000, Central Soil Salinity Research Institute, Karnal; Project Director, Directorate of Rice Research, Hyderabad, 2000-2005; Director, Directorate of Wheat Research, Karnal, 2005-2008; Vice Chancellor, Sher-e-Kashmir University of Agricultural Sciences and Technology, Jammu, 2008-13. Chairman/member of several international, national and state level scientific/ academic, research, review committees; Coordinator ACIAR-ICAR; Indo-Swiss-Wheat Biotechnology; National Coordinator, Rice-Wheat Tillage Project; ICAR-UNDP, IRRI-ADB, ICAR-IRRI Coordinator for Hybrid Rice Tech; Indo-UK Coordinator for DFID (ODA) Project on development of salt tolerant rice varieties involving pyramiding of genes; ICAR-IRRI Coordinator for problem soils-germplasm-improvement; World Bank/EEU funded CSSRI-UPLDC Adaptive Research Coordinator for sodic soils; ICAR Coordinator for gene pyramiding project on rice, wheat, maize, chickpea & tomato; Coordinator DBT Functional Genomics Project, Chairman, QRT for DRMR, Bharatpur, ICAR-Indian Institute of Wheat and Barley Research, Karnal, Indian Institute of Rice Research, Hyderabad and Indian Institute of Sugarcane Reseach, Coimbatore. Chairman and member of many Boards of Management, RAC (IARI, VPKAS), Scientific Advisory Committee, Steering Committee, IBC, IMC, Selection Committees, Academic Council, University Council, Member, General Body of the ICAR Society, Member, Accreditation Board on Governance, Personnel and Financial Policies and ICAR Standing Committee for grant of financial assistance.

Awards/Honours: Senadhira Rice Research Award, IRRI, Philippines, 2002; Rao Bahadur Dr. Ram Dhan Singh Memorial Award, 2003; Hari Om Ashram Trust Award, 2003; Honoured for colossal contribution and accomplishment in agriculture by Seedsmen Association, AP, 2003; International Year of Rice-Dr. A.K. Richharia Award, 2004; Rafi Ahmad Kidwai Award, 2007; Honored for development of Basmati CSR-30 and contribution by President, ICAR and Union Minister of Agriculture and Secretary, DARE and Director General, ICAR; President, Society of Advancement of Rice Research, and Advancement of Wheat Research, Chief Editor, Journal of Wheat Research, Chief Patron, Journal of Research SKUAST-J.

Fellow: Society of Advancement of Wheat Research, Karnal

Research Areas: Genetics, plant breeding, seed, expertise in rice and wheat research and abiotic stress, climate change and policy.

Address: Former VC, SKUAST-Jammu, Flat No. B-63, IDC CGHS Apartments, Plot 8-C, Sector - 11, Dwarka, New Delhi 110075; [Tel: Cell: 09582500093, 09868599100; Email: b9mishra@gmail.com]