Dr. Himanshu Pathak

Born in Purulia, West Bengal, India on 2 February 1965. Educated at Gopalpur Swami Gyanananda Vidyapith, Purulia, West Bengal, 1975-80; Dubrajpur Uttarayan Vidyayatan, Bankura, West Bengal, 1980-82; Banaras Hindu University, Uttar Pradesh, 1982-86; Indian Agricultural Research Institute, 1986-92; University of Essex, United Kingdom, 1996-97; Institute for Meteorology and Climate Research, Germany, 2004-05; B.Sc. (Ag.) 1986; M.Sc. 1988; Ph.D. 1992.

Secretary, Department of Agricultural Research and Education (DARE) and Director General, Indian Council of Agricultural Research (ICAR), New Delhi 2022 to date.

Scientist, 1992-01 and Senior Scientist, 2001-06, Indian Agricultural Research Institute, New Delhi; Co-Facilitator, Rice-Wheat Consortium for the Indo-Gangetic Plains (RWC), International Rice Research Institute (IRRI)-India, New Delhi 2006-09; Principal Scientist, Indian Agricultural Research Institute, New Delhi 2009-16; Professor, Discipline of Environmental Sciences, Indian Agricultural Research Institute, New Delhi, 2013-16; Director, ICAR-National Rice Research Institute, Cuttack, Odisha, 2016-20; Director, ICAR-National Institute of Abiotic Stress Management, Baramati, Maharashtra; 2020-22.

Awards/Honours: Indian Science Congress Association (ISCA) Young Scientist Award, 1994; DST BOYSCAST (Better Opportunities for Young Scientists in Chosen Areas of Science and Technology) Fellowship, 1996-97; Indian Society of Soil Science Golden Jubilee Commemoration Young Scientist Award, 1998; ISCA Dr. B.C. Deb Memorial Award, 2001; Alexander von Humboldt Fellowship, 2004-05; IRRI Outstanding Administrative Support Award, 2007; ISCA President, Agriculture and Forestry Sciences Section, 2008-09; Society of Agricultural Professionals Gold Medal, 2010; ISCA Prof. S.K. Mukherjee Commemoration Award, 2011; Prof. S.K. Mukherjee Memorial Award Lecture, Indian Society of Soil Science, 2012; Lead Author Inter-Governmental Panel on Climate Change (IPCC) 5th Assessment Report, 2010-2014; Founder Editor-in-Chief, Current Advances in Agricultural Sciences, 2009-2015; Editor, Greenhouse Gases: Science and Technology, 2010-2015 and Advisory Board Member 2015 to date; Editor, Indian Journal of Agronomy, 2011-16; United Nations Framework Convention on Climate Change Coordinator of Department of Agriculture Research and Education/Indian Council of Agricultural Research, 2011-2015; Indian National Science Academy Silver Jubilee Commemoration Medal, 2016; Lead Author, IPCC Guidelines for National Greenhouse Gas Inventories, 2017-19; ISCA Platinum Jubilee Award Lecture, 2018; President, Association of Rice Research Workers, National Rice Research Institute, Cuttack, 2019 to date; Rafi Ahmed Kidwai Award of Indian Council of Agricultural Research, 2019; Award of Appreciation, 6th International Rice Congress, Manila, the Philippines, 2023; Honorary Fellow, Indian Society of Soil Science, 2023; Honorary Fellow, Confederation of Horticulture Associations of India, 2023; Chairman, G20-Meeting of Agricultural Chief Scientists (MACS), Varanasi; 2023; President, Indian Society of Soil Science, 2024; Doctor of Science (Honoris Causa), Uttar Banga Krishi Viswavidyalaya, West Bengal, 2023; Dr. D. Sundaresan Memorial Award by ICAR-National Diary Research Institute, 2023; Member of CGIAR System Council, 2022 and Vice-Chair of Governing Board of ICRISAT, Hyderabad, 2022.

Fellow: Indian National Science Academy; The National Academy of Sciences, India; West Bengal Academy of Science and Technology; Indian Climate Congress; Alexander von Humboldt Foundation, Germany

Research Areas: Abiotic stress, Climate change, Soil science

Address: Secretary, DARE & Director General, Indian Council of Agricultural Research, Krishi Bhawan, Dr. Rajendra Prasad Road, New Delhi 110001; [Tel: Cell: 9899247590, 9437325663; Email: hpathak.iari@gmail.com; dg.icar@nic.in]

President 1 Jan, 2023; Treasurer, 1 Jan, 2013 to 31 Dec, 2015; Treasurer (casual vacancy), 1 Jan, 2011 to 31 Dec, 2012; Recognition Award 2009-2010; Dr. N.S. Randhawa Memorial Award 2019-2020