Dr. Harishchandra Prasad Singh

Born in Mahmada, Pusa, Bihar, India on 2 July 1950. High school, MPHS School, Pusa, Samastipur,1958-1964; Intermediate, UP College, Varanasi,1964-1966; B.Sc.(Ag), BHU, Varanasi,1966-1969; M.Sc. (Hort), Bihar Agriculture college, Sabour, RAU, Pusa, Samastipur,1969-1971; Ph D., UAS, Bangalore,1982-1985; Post Doctorate, D.Sc (Honoris causa) OUAT, Bhubaneswar, 2009. Leadership in Agriculture, IMD International, Lausanne, 2009, Switzerlands.

The Founder and Chairman, Confederation of Horticulture Associations of India (CHAI), New Delhi, 2012 to date; Chairman, National Council on Agriculture and Food Security, ASSOCHAM, New Delhi, 2016 to date; Independent Director in Board of JISL, Jalgaon and Vindhyachal Agro, Mirzapur, U.P.

Scientist (S1), CHES,IIHR, Ranchi/Chethalli, 1972-81; Senior Scientist (Horticulture), CHES, IIHR, Ranchi, 1981-88; Project Coordinator (Fruits), IIHR, Bangalore, 1988-97; Director, National Research Centre on Banana, Trichy, 1993-97; Chairman, Coconut Development Board, Cochin, 1998-2000 & 2002-04; Horticulture Commissioner, Govt. of India, Ministry of Agriculture, 1997-2003; Dean Agriculture, G.B. Pant University of Agriculture and Technology, Pantnagar, 2004-05; Vice-Chancellor, Rajendra Agricultural University, Pusa, Samastipur, Bihar, 2005-07. Deputy Director General (Hort.), ICAR, 2007-2012.

Chairman, Asia and Pacific Coconut Community, Jakarta, 1999-2001; Chairman, BAPNET, Bioversity International, 2008-10; Chairman, Committee on Climate Change,BAPNET, 2010-12; National Director, FAO Assisted Projects, 1998-2003; Chairman, Review Committee of APCC, 2001-03; Chairman, Organic Farming in Coconut, APCC 2000-01; Chairman, National Project Steering Committee of the UNEP/GEF TFT Project of Bioversity International on Conservation of Tropical Fruits 2008-12.Chairman, Steering Committee of a Joint project on mango, India - Oman, 2009-12; Chairman and member secretary of many high powered national committees including working group of plan proposals (Working Group of Planning Commission and Taskforce force on micro- irrigation.

Awards/Honours: HSI Award, 1993, HSI, New Delhi; Shavaroys Foundation Award, 1995 H S Mehta foundation, Salem; Pisang Raja Award 1996, ASPNET, INIBAP, Philippines; G.L. Chadha Memorial Gold Medal, 1998, HSI; Ranade Memorial Senior Scientist Award, 1998; AIPUB Kadali Puraskar, 1998; UAS Bangalore Dr. M.H. Marigowda National Award 2001; Kalpvriksha Award, 2001, APCC, Jakarta; Recognition Award, 2002, Horticulture Society of India; All India Kitchen Garden Association Gold Medal, 2002; Lifetime Achievement Award, 2003, All India Amla Grower Association, Gurgaon; Appreciation Award, 2004, Irrigation Association of India and Institution of Engineers; Recognition Award, 2004, G.B. Pant University of Agriculture & Technology, Pantnagar, Maharsi Viswamitra Award, 2006, National Literature Council, Patna; Lifetime Achievement Award, 2006, Confederation of Indian Horticulture, Gurgaon; Dr Harbajan Singh Memorial Award, 2007, ISPGR, New Delhi; Recognition Award, 2008, Biodiversity International and BAPNET; AIPUB Lifetime Achievement Award, 2008; HIS Shivshakti Lifetime Achievements Award, 2008; Wellness Open University Star Action Award, 2008; Lifetime Achievement award, 2008, DKEVBVS, Lucknow; Achiever Award, 2009, Banana Grower Association of India; ISHRD Pant Lifetime Achievement Award, 2010; ISOH Lifetime Achievement Award 2010; Hi-tech Horticultural Society, Rajesh Pilot Lifetime Achievement Award 2010; Kadli Ratana Award, 2010, AIPUB, Trichy; Life Time Achievements Award 2010, Society for Promotion of Horticulture, Bangalore; Vishist Vyaktitvya Award, 2010, All India Coconut Grower Association, Rajmundri, AP; Life Time Achievements Award, 2011, Society for Sub-tropical Horticulture, Lucknow; Recognition Award 2011, for Cashew Research & Development, NRCC, Puttur; Life time achievements award, 2011, MSET International Consortium of Contemporary Biologist; Life Time Achievement Award, 2012, Indian Society of Citriculture, Nagpur, Man of the Decade Award, 2012, Association for the Improvement of in Production and Utilisation of Banana, Trichy. Life time achievements Award, 2013, HSG, NAU, Navsari, Gujarat; Life time Achievement award-2014 CHAI, New Delhi: Kishi Rishi Award 2014, ASM Foundation, New Delhi. Life Time Achievement Award of Indian Society of ornamental Horticulture, 2016.

The Founder and Chairman, Associations for the Improvement in Production and Utilization of Banana; The Founder and Chairman, Confederation of Horticulture Associations of India (CHAI), President, Indian Society of Ornamental Horticulture; Vice-President, Indian Society of Vegetable Science. Editor-in-Chief, International Journal of Innovative Horticulture, Excessive Member, CII and ASSOCHAM.

Fellow: Horticulture Society of India; Association of Production and Utilization of Banana; Aonla Growers' Association of India; Indian Society of Plant Genetic Resources; Indian Society of Ornamental Horticulture., National Academy of Biological Sciences, Chennai, Confederation of Horticulture Associations of India, Indian Society of Vegetable Sciences, Varanasi.

Research Areas: Horticulture (PGR, Biotechnology, Nanotechnology, Improvement, Production System Management, Nutrient and Water management), Education Technology, Forestry (bamboo) Climate change, and Human resource Development

Address: The Founder and Chairman, Confederation of Horticulture Associations of India (CHAI), Vijayee Veer Awash, Sector 18A, Dwarka, New Delhi 110078; 15, Ivory, Emerald Hill Floor, Golf course Ext Road, Sector 65, Gurugram 122001, Haryana; [Tel: Off. (011) 28085749; Res. 9871450730; Cell: 9582898983; Fax: (011) 28085749; Email: hpsingh50@gmaIl.com; confedhorti@gmail.com; confedhortiamit@gmail.com]

Member Executive Council 1 Jan, 2007 to 31 Dec, 2009