Dr. Anup Das

Born in Dharmanagar, District: North Tripura, Tripura on 18 August 1974. Educated at CAU, Imphal, B.Sc (Ag.) 1998; TANU, Coimbatore, M.Sc (Ag.) Agronomy, 2000 and IARI, New Delhi, Ph.D. (Agronomy), 2003.

Director, ICAR Research Complex for Eastern Region, Patna, Bihar, February, 2023 onwards.

Principal Scientist (Agronomy), ICAR Research Complex for NEH Region, Tripura Centre, Lembucherra, Agartala, Tripura, 2018-23; Head (I/c), Division of Crop Production, ICAR RC NEH, Umiam, 2016-18; Principal Scientist (Agronomy), ICAR RC NEH, Umiam, 2014-16; Senior Scientist (Agronomy), ICAR RC NEH, Umiam, 2009-14; Senior Scientist (Agronomy), IIWBR (DWR), Karnal, 2008-09; I/C Water Management Division, ICAR RC NEH, Umiam, 2009-10; Scientist (Agronomy), ICAR RC NEH, Umiam, 2003-08.

Awards/Honours: Swami Sahajananad Saraswati Outstanding Extension scientist award, ICAR, 2016; First Dr. H.K. Jain Award for excellence in agricultural research in north east India, CAU, Imphal, 2013-2014; ICAR Outstanding Interdisciplinary Team Research Award in Natural Resource Management, 2011; Fakhruddin Ali Ahmed Award, ICAR, 2012; Lal Bahadur Shastri Outstanding Young Scientist Award, ICAR, 2010; National Ground Water Augmentation Award, Ministry of Water Resources, 2008; ISA Gold Medal Award 2021; Dr. K.G.Tejwani award in Natural Resource Management, IASWC, Dehradun, 2015-16; Young Soil Conservationist Award, IASWC, Dehradun, 2012; First Outstanding Scientist Award, 2012, ICAR RC NEH, Umiam, 2013; P.S. Deshmukh Young Agronomist Award, ISA, New Delhi, 2008; Best Centre, Network Project on Organic Farming (NPOF), Team leader/PI, ICAR-IIFSR, Modipuram, 2016; Indian Association of Hill Farming (IAHF) Best Extension Scientist award 2017-18, Recognition certificate from CMASC, OSU, USA for 3 month attachment research on conservation agriculture and soil carbon sequestration 2014; Secretary, IAHF, Umiam, Meghalaya, 2015-18; Joint Secretary, IAHF, 2011-14; Organizing Secretary, International Congress on Cotton and Other Fibre Crops, 2018, ICAR RC NEH, Umiam; Editor-in-Chief, Innovative Farming, Society for Advancement of Agricultural Innovation (SAAI), Agartala, 2016; Co-Chief editor, Indian Journal of Hill Farming, 2018; President, SAAI, Agartala 2018 onwards; Vice President, IAHF, 2021-23; Technical editor, IAHF, Umiam, 2017-18; Editor, Indian Journal of Agronomy, 2012-16, 2019-23; Editor, Indian Journal of Soil Conservation, 2016-18; Councilor, ISA, 2010-12; Member, NLMT (NFSM) NE Region, 2015 to 2018; Faculty member College of Post Graduate Studies, (CAU), Umiam, 2007-2018; Member, PG Faculty, IARI, New Delhi, 2016 onwards; Member, Board of Management, BASU, Bihar; Member, IMC, ATARI, Guwahati; Member, IQAC, College of Agriculture, Tripura (CAT); External Member, IAIP, Nagaland University; 2019 onwards; Councillor, IGNOU certificate courses, ICAR RC NEH, Umiam centre, 2009-2018.

Fellow: Indian Society of Agronomy (ISA) 2017, Indian Association of Hill Farming (IAHF) 2017, National Academy of Biological Sciences (NABS) 2021, Society for Biotic and Environmental Research (SBER), 2020.

Research Areas: Crop production, Hill farming system, Conservation agriculture, Organic farming, Climate resilient agriculture

Address: Director, ICAR Research Complex for Eastern Region, ICAR Parisar, PO. B.V. College, Patna 800014, Bihar; [Tel: Off. (0612) 2223962); Cell: 873002833, 9436336070; Fax: (0612) 2223962); Email: anup_icar@yahoo.com; anup.das2@icar.gov.in; director.icar-rcer@icar.gov.in]

NAAS Associate, 2015