Prof. Narayanasamy Mathivanan

Born in Kalingikuppam, Villupuram District, Tamil Nadu, India on 7th March 1964. Educated at Periyar Arts College, Cuddalore, 1983-86; Annamalai University, Annamalai Nagar, 1986-1988, Centre for Advanced Studies in Botany, University of Madras Chennai, 1988-89; 1990-1996; B.Sc. 1986; M.Sc. 1988; M.Phil. 1989; Ph.D. 1996.

Professor, Director & Head, Centre for Advanced Studies in Botany & Special Officer, University of Madras, Chennai.

Scientist 1995-2001; Program Leader 2001-2002, Nagarjuna Agricultural Research and Development Institute, Hyderabad, Lecturer 2002-2004; Senior Lecturer 2004-2006; Assitant Professor 2006-2012; Associate Professor 2012-2015; Professor 2015 onwards, Centre for Advanced Studies in Botany; Coordinator, Dr. A.L. Mudaliar Centre for Basic Science Development, 2009-2015; Director, Guindy Campus 2017-2018; Director, Research Scheme & Projects 2018-2021; Chairperson, School of Life Sciences, 2019-2021; Registrar i/c 2020-2022, University of Madras, Chennai.

Awards/Honours: CSIR-Senior Research Fellowship, 1992-1995; A-IMBO-AMBO Fellowship, Japan, 2003; INSA-DFG Fellowship, India-Germany, 2005; DBT-Overseas Assiciateship, India-USA, 2007; DAAD Fellowship, Germany, 2008; Service Star Award, 2008; Outstanding Scientist Award on Noni, 2009; Tamil Nadu Scientist Award, Tamil Nadu State Council for Science and Technology, 2016; Dr. V. Agnihothrudu Memorial Award, Mycological Society of India, 2018; Prof. S.N. Banerjee Memorial Award, Indian Mycological Society, 2020; Lifetime Achievement Award, Antiviral Research Society, 2020; Lifetime Achievement Award, Nature Science Foundation, 2021; Mid-Career Award, UGC, 2021; Distinguished Alumnus Award, Annamalai University, 2022; Co-Convener, Chennai Science Club, 2008-2016; Joint Secretary, Society for Biotechnologists (India), 2012-2018; Joint Secretary, Mycological Society of India, 2020 onwards; President, Chennai Science Colloquium, 2020 onwards; Vice President, National Academy of Biological Sciences, 2022 onwards; Director-Seminars, The Academy of Sciences Chennai (Formerly Tamil Nadu Academy of Sciences), 2022 onwards; Section Editor for Plant Pathology, KAVAKA (The Transactions of Mycological Society of India), 2020 onwards; Member, Editorial Board of International Journal of Noni Science 2022 onwards. Member, Senate & Academic Council, 2015 onwards; Board of Research Studies, 2019 onwards, University of Madras; Chairman, Board of Studies in Botany, University of Madras, 2015 onwards; Alagappa University, 2016-2019; Tamil Nadu Open University, 2020 onwards; Convener, State Integrated Boards of Studies in Botany, Tamil Nadu State Council for Higher Education, 2018-2020; Member, National Expert Committee for Access and Benefit Sharing, National Biodiversity Authority, 2016-2018; Chairman, Chennai Science Festival, Science City, Government of Tamil Nadu 2019; Member, APEX Committee, Science City, 2018-2020; Member, Executive Committee, Tamil Nadu State Science and Technology Centre, 2018 onwards; International Society for Noni Science, 2010 onwards; National Academy of Biological Sciences, 2014 onwards; The Academy of Sciences Chennai, 2018-2021; Chief Coordinator, UGC-UPE, University of Madras, 2017-2021; Coordinator, UGC-CPEPA, 2016-2020; Coordinator, RUSA-2.0, 2020 onwards.

Fellow: National Academy of Biological Sciences, 2014; International Society of Noni Science, 2015; Mycological Society of India, 2015; The Academy of Science Chennai, 2016; Antiviral Research Society, 2018; Royal Society of Biology, United Kingdom, 2020; Honorary Fellow of the Indian Mycological Society, 2020

Research Areas: Molecular Plant Pathology, Biological Control, Medicinal Plants, Plant and Microbial Metabolites, Actinomycetes and extremophiles

Address: Director & Head, Centre for Advanced Studies in Botany, University of Madras, Guindy Campus, Chennai 600025, Tamil Nadu; No. 1, Coastal Road, Manasarovar Apartment, Besant Nagar, Chennai 600025, Tamil Nadu; [Tel: Off. (044) 22202750; Cell: 9840253789; Email:;]