Dr. Vishweshwaraiah Prakash

Born in Mysore, India on 23 November 1951. Educated at Yuvaraja's College, Mysore, India, B.Sc. 1970; CFTRI, Mysore, India, M.Sc. 1972, and Ph.D at CFTRI, University of Mysore, India, 1976; Post Doctoral at Brandeis University, Waltham MA, USA and Texas Medical Center, Houston, Texas, USA and served CSIR India for over35 years.

Presently Adjunct Professor at ICT, Mumbai, India.

Former Director of CFTRI, Distinguished Scientist of CSIR-India, Immediate Past President of International Union of Food Science and Technology (IUFoST), Immediate Past Vice-President of International Union of Nutritional Sciences (IUNS), and former Scientific Consultant to Principal Scientific Advisor, to Gov. of India.

Junior and Senior Research Fellow (1972-76): Post-Doctoral Fellow, USA (1976-80): Pool Officer (CSIR), (1981-82), Scientist, Protein Technology Department, CFTRI, (1982-88); Scientist-in-charge Biophysical Chemistry Unit, CFTRI, (1988-93); Head, Department of Protein Chemistry and Technology, CFTRI (1993) and Director, Central Food Technological Research Institute, Mysore (1994-2011); Coordinator, United Nations University at CFTRI (1994-2011), President IAFoST (Canada) (2006-08); Distinguished Scientist CSIR, (2011-16); Council Member IUNS (2013-17) and Board Member of IUFoST and IUNS for over 12 years.

Awards/Honours: Golden Jubilee Award (University of Mysore, Mysore, India), 1988; Sarma Memorial Award [SBC (I)], 1989; Laljee Godhoo Smarak Nidhi Award AFST (I), 1992; Shanti Swarup Bhatnagar Prize, 1996; Karnataka Rajyotsava Award, 1996; 50th Anniversary of India's Independence Golden Jubilee Award, 1997; Prof. V. Subramanyan Industrial Achievement Award, AFST (I) 1999; CFTRI Best Alumnus Award, 1999; Soilendra Krishna Mitra Memorial Award, AIFPA (I) 2000; 38th BC Guha Memorial Lecture Award and Citation, Indian Science Congress, 2001; DuPont Protein Technologies International Award, 2001; FICCI Award in Life Sciences and Agriculture, 2001; Kashalkar Memorial Award, 2003; Padma Shri Award, 2004; CIFT 6th Golden Jubilee Commemorative Talk Award, 2007; NSI Nineteenth Srikantia Memorial Lecture Award, 2007; NFI C. Ramachandran Memorial Lecture Award 2007; Avinashilingam University of Women, Dr. Rajammal P. Devadas's Oration Lecture Award 2009; Life Time Achievement Award of KSTA, Government of Karnataka, 2012; IFT Certified Scientist from 2013; Life Time Achievement Award of IUFoST, Canada, 2014; Council Member of Global Harmonization Initiative, former Chairman of India Region of EHEDG (European Hygienic Engineering Design Group); former Executive Editor, Journal of the Science of Food and Agriculture, UK and Editorial Board of a number of leading Journals in the subject areas of Food Science, Nutritional Sciences, Nutraceuticals and Chemistry of Bioactives; President, Nutrition Society of India, 2008-2012; Former Council Member, Karnataka Science and Technology Academy, India, former Scientific Committee Member and Chairman of Nutra Panel at FSSAI, Government of India, New Delhi and recipient of AIFPA Platinum Jubilee Life Time Achievement Award from President of India (2019).

Fellow: Royal Society of Chemistry; Indian Academy of Sciences; Association of Food Scientist and Technologists (India); National Academy of Sciences, India; Indian National Academy of Engineering; Indian Academy of Social Sciences; Institute of Food Technologists (IFT), USA, 2008; International Academy of Food Science and Technology (Canada) and KSTA, Govt. of Karnataka, India.

Research Areas: Food Chemistry, Enzymes and Proteins, Food and Nutrition, Biochemistry, Food Biotechnology and Nutraceuticals and Food Policies and Prevention of Food Losses and Waste and Food Safety Regulations, Food and Nutrition Sciences, Health and Wellness as an Integrated area overarching Policy matters in Food Systems in Sustainable Post Harvest Technologies and Sustainable Nutritional intervention

Address: No. 58, '5A' Main Road, Vontikoppal, Mysuru 570002, Karnataka; [Tel: Cell: 9845048854; Email: prakashvish@gmail.com]

Member Executive Council 1 Jan, 2018 to 31 Dec, 2020