Prof. Bulusu Lakshmana Deekshatulu

Born in ASKA, Odisha, 1936. Educated at Banaras Hindu University, Indian Institute of Science, Bengaluru; B.Sc. (Engg.) 1958, M.E., 1960 and Ph.D., 1964.

Lecturer, 1964, and Professor, 1970-76, I.I.Sc., Bangalore; Distinguished Scientist (Secretary Grade) and Director NRSA, 1982-96; Chairman, Remote Sensing Applications Mission, India, 1987-96; Chairman, National Committee on International Geosphere, Biosphere Programme (IGBP), 1994-97; Director, Center for Space Science and Technology Education in Asia and the Pacific (CSSTEAP), Affiliated to UN, 1995-2002. Visiting Professor, Department of Computer & Information Sciences, University of Hyderabad, 2002-11; Chairman, NIT Warangal, A.P., 2009-12; Distinguished Fellow IDRBT (RBI-Govt. of India) 2011-2021.

Awards/Honours: Bharat Ratna Sir M. Visveswaraya Award, 1984; NRDC Invention Awards, 1986 and 1993; Dr. Biren Roy Space Science Award, 1988; Padma Shri, 1991; Brahm Prakash Medal; Om Prakash Bhasin Award, 1995; ISRS Bhaskara Award, 2000; Sivananda Eminent Citizen Award, 1998; Thailand Remote Sensing and GIS Association "Boom Indrambarya Gold Medal", 1999; ASI Aryabhatta Award, 2002; Distinguished Alumuni Award IISc 2006; Earth System Science Award (MoES,Govt. of India) 2011; Chen Shupeng Award, AARS, Taipei 2011; Outstanding Performance Award ISRO, 2012; Life Time Contribution Award by IETE 2014; Lifetime Contribution Award, 2015 by INAE.

Fellow: IEEE (USA); The World Academy of Sciences (TWAS); Indian National Science Academy; Indian Academy of Sciences; National Academy of Sciences; Indian National Academy of Engineering; Computer Society of India; Distinguished Fellow, ASI and IETE; Hon. Member AARS, Japan

Research Areas: Digital Image Processing. Remote Sensing, Pattern recognition, neural Networks, and Machine Learning

Address: House 10-3-123/3, East Marredpally, Teachers Colony, Secunderabad 500026, Telangana; [Tel: Cell: 9908499081; Email:]

Member Executive Council 1 Jan, 2002 to 31 Dec, 2004