Dr. Chakravarthi Devakumar

Born in Desur, India on 2 June 1951. Education: B.Sc. Univ. of Madras, 1972; M.Sc. in Chemistry, IIT, Chennai, 1974; Ph.D in 'Agricultural Chemistry', IARI, New Delhi, 1987.

ARS Scientist, ICAR-Indian Agricultural Research Institute, New Delhi, (1978-2009); Assistant Director General (EP & D), Indian Council of Agricultural Research, New Delhi, (2009-13); Consultant to National Agricultural Innovation Project (NAIP), ICAR, New Delhi 2013-14. FAO TCDC Expert, Sri Lanka, (2014-16); Consultant, Commonwealth of Learning, Vancouver, Canada, (2014).

Awards/Honours: Suresh Gold Medal for Chemistry, 1972, A.M. Jain College, Chennai; Rear Admiral MS Malhotra Prize, DIPAS (DRDO), Delhi, 1990 & 1991; PRJ News, 1990-92; HARDF Award, 1994; ICAR Team Research Award, 1997-98 & 2000; Neem Mission Award, 1999-2000; Listed as an International Resource Person in the book "Neem: A Tree for Solving Global Problems" (1992) by National Research Council, USA; Managing Editor, J. IARI Postgraduate Research, 1993-97; UNDP Expert on Botanical Pesticides at University of West Indies, Jamaica (2000); Pesticide Research J., 2003-04; Member, National Organising Committee, 2nd International Rice Congress, New Delhi and jointly edited the Proceedings (2006); Dr P.B. Sarkar Memorial Endowment Lecture Award, 2006. National Coordinator for ARS/ NET syllabus revision of Agricultural Chemicals and Organic Chemistry, 2007; Member, Steering Committee, Fifth World Neem Conference, Coimbatore (2007); Editor, Agribioinformatics, 2008-10; Associate Editor, Agricultural Research (Official Journal of NAAS), 2012 to date; Member, Karnataka Government Apex Committee on Agriculture, 2012; DARE/ICAR's Nominee: i) for the signing of MOU between ICAR and KazakAgroinnovations JSC, Kazakhstan, 2012; ii) India-USAID Advisory Committee on Partnership Agreement on Agriculture and Food Security Programme (AFSP), 2012; iii) The BRICS Agriculture Experts Group Meeting, Beijing, China, 2011 and Nodal Officer for the Second Meeting, 2012; iv) Boards of Management of SDAU, Sardar Krushinagar, Gujarat and NDUAT, Kumarganj, Faizabad; v) Member, DBT Task Force on Biological Agents for Agriculture, 2013 to date; Leslie Coleman Memorial Lecture Award, 2015, UAS, Bangalore; Chairman of Juries, NAAS Silver Jubilee Youth Deliberations, June 2015; 16th Dr R S Murthy Memorial Lecture, India Society of Soil Science, Coimbatore Chapter, 2017; Chairman, Committee for Revision of Specifications of Neem Coated Urea, Department of Agriculture Cooperation & Farmers Welfare, Ministry of A & FW, GOI, New Delhi (2018); Consultant, The Competition Commission of India, New Delhi; Member, The Hon'ble Tamil Nadu Governor/Chancellor Nominated Search Committee for the VC of TN Agricultural University, Coimbatore (2018); Member, Research Advisory, Committee, ICAR-CTCRI, Trivandrum (2018-2020); Member, Research Advisory, Committee, ICAR-IARI, New Delhi (2018-2020); Member, ICAR-ASRB Committee on Defining the Job Responsibilities of the Research Management Positions (2018); Member, ICAR Committee on Revision of Quinquinneal Review Team Guidelines (2018-19); Lifetime Achievement Award by the Society of Pesticide Science India (2019).

Fellow: Indian Chemical Society, Kolkata; Honorary Fellow, Indian Society for Advancement of Insect Science, Ludhiana; Honorary Fellow, Society for Recent Development in Agriculture, Meerut; Founder Life Member, Society of Pesticide Science, India, New Delhi; Life Member, Indian Society of Biochemistry and Biotechnology, New Delhi; Life Member, Indian Society of Genetics and Plant Breeding, New Delhi; Life Member, World Noni Foundation, Chennai; Founder Life Member, Society for Promotion of Agricultural Research and Knowledge (SPARK), New Delhi.

Research Areas: Agrochemicals (covering aromachemicals, botanical pesticides, insecticides, antifungal and nematicidal products, insecticide synergists, chemical hybridizing agents and neem coated urea); Policy envisioning, mentoring, analytics, MOOC, planning and development of higher education and skill development.

Address: A-61, Second Floor, Inderpuri, New Delhi 110012; [Tel: Res. (011) 25833879, Cell: 8010509335, 9811859111; Email: cdevakumar@gmail.com; cdevakumar@yahoo.com]

Editor 1 Jan, 2011 to 31 Dec, 2013; Treasurer (Casual Vacancy) 23 Aug, 2010 to 31 Dec, 2010