Dr. Chuni Lal Acharya

Born in Palampur, H.P., India on 6 April 1945. Educated at Govt. Higher Secondary School, Kullu, 1957-62; PAU, Ludhiana, 1962-66; PAU, Hisar Campus, 1966-68; Indian Agricultural Research Institute, New Delhi, 1968-71; B.Sc. 1966; M.Sc. 1968; Ph.D. 1971; Post-Doc. Fellow, IMG, Grenoble, France, 1975-76; INRA, Versailles, France, 1976-77; FAO/IAEA training course, Cadarache, France, June-July 1981.

Soil Physicist, Central Soil Salinity Research Institute, Karnal, 1972-79; Assoc. Prof.(Soil Physics), 1979-87, Chief Scientist (WM), 1987-93, Chief Scientist and Head, Dept. of Soil Science, CSKHPKV, Palampur, 1993-98; Director, Indian Institute of Soil Science (ICAR), Bhopal, 1998-2003; Director Extension Education, CSKHPKV, Palampur, 2003-05. Consultant (Soil Expert), Ict, New Delhi (Apr-May, Aug-Sep, 2010, Cambodia).

Awards/Honours: ISSS 12th International Congress Commemoration Award, 1989; Hooker Award, 1993; Himachal Kesri Award, 1994; Hari Om Ashram Trust Award,1999; ISSS 1st Prof. P.K. De Memorial Lecture Award, 2000; Dr. B.V. Mehta Memorial Lecture Award, 2002; 2nd Dr. T.D. Biswas Memorial Lecture Award, 2008; 3rd Dr. N.P. Datta Memorial Lecture Award, 2013; ICAR National Agricultural Science Fund (NASF), 2015-2019. Member, G.B. Pant Society for Himalayan Environment & Development, GOI, 2008-10; Member, Editorial Board, Soil and Tillage Research (Elsevier), 1997 to date; Member Enpowered Committee, National Agricultural Science Fund (NASF), ICAR, 2015-18; Member Expert Committee, National Innovations in Climate Resilient Agriculture (NICRA), ICAR, 2017 onwards; Member Editorial Board, Agricultural Research, National Academy of Agricultural Sciences, 2015 to date.

Fellow: Indian Society of Soil Science; National Academy of Sciences, India; Indian Society of Water Management; International Society of Noni Science

Research Areas: Natural resource management sciences, soil physics/soil water conservation/management, tillage, water management

Address: House No. 28, Nagarkot Colony, Thakurdwara P.O. Maranda, Palampur 176102, H.P.; [Tel: Cell: 9418105471, 7807205472; Email: cl_acharya@yahoo.co.in]

Member Executive Council 1 Jan, 2008 to 31 Dec, 2010; Dr. N.S. Randhawa Memorial Award 2005-2006