Dr. Bushan L. Jalali
Fellow, Elected 1997

Born in Srinagar, Kashmir, India on 14 June 1943; Educated at National High School, Srinagar, 1953-57; Amar Singh College, Srinagar, 1957-59; College of Agriculture, Banaras Hindu University, 1960-65; Punjab Agricultural University, 1965-68; Federal Research Centre for Agriculture, Braunschweig, Germany, 1973-74; B.Sc. 1963; M.Sc. 1965; Ph.D. 1968.

Professor of Plant Pathology, 1982-92, and Head, Department of Plant Pathology, 1987-90, Haryana Agricultural University, Hisar; Director, National Center for Integrated Pest Management, Indian Council of Agricultural Research, 1992-93; Visiting Professor, University of Hannover, 1987, University of Tubingen, Germany, 1994, University of Montreal, Canada,1995, and DongGuk University, Seoul, S.Korea, 2000; Director of Research, Haryana Agricultural University, 1998-2001; Member, Commission on Agricultural Reforms, Research and Development, Govt. of Jharkhand, 2006-08.

Awards/Honours: National Narasimhan Award, 1978; MS Pavgi Memorial Lecture Award, 1997; President, Indian Society of Mycology and Plant Pathology, 1998; Sir J.C.Luthura Award, 2000; President, Indian Phytopathological Society, 2000; Editor-in-Chief, Indian Phytopathology, 2007-10; N. Prasad Memorial Lecture, 2008; IPS Recognition Award, 2010; ICMPB Life-time Achievement Award, Banaras Hindu University, 2012; Life-time Achievement Award, Indian Society of Mycology & Plant Pathology, 2014; Chairman/Member of several national research management, planning and advisory committees/expert panels of: ICAR, DBT, DST, NRDC, UGC, and other national bodies.

Fellow: National Academy of Sciences, India; Indian Phytopathological Society; Honorary Fellow, Indian Society of Plant Pathologists.

Research Areas: Plant Pathology, Microbiology, Integrated Pest Management, and Research Management

Address: Ex Director of Research, HAU, # 601, Neelkanth Apartments, Sector 21-C, Part III, Faridabad 121001, Haryana; [Tel: Res. (0129) 2980329, Cell: 09910609931; Email: bljalali@gmail.com]

Member Executive Council 1 Jan, 2007 to 31 Dec 2009