Dr. Joykrushna Jena

Born in Balasore District of Orissa, India on 28 October 1965. Educated at N. N. High School, Balasore, Orissa, 1978-81; F. M. College, Balasore, 1981-83; College of Fisheries, OUAT, Bhubaneswar, Orissa 1983-87; ICAR-Central Marine Fisheries Research Institute, Cochin, Kerala, 1987-1989; B.F.Sc. 1987; M.Sc. (Mariculture) 1989; Ph.D. 1999.

Deputy Director General (Fisheries Science), Indian Council of Agricultural Research, New Delhi, 2016 to date.

Scientist, Senior Scientist, ICAR National Fellow, Principal Scientist & Head of the Division, ICAR-Central Institute of Freshwater Aquaculture, Bhubaneswar, 1992-2010; Director, ICAR-National Bureau of Fish Genetic Resources, Lucknow, 2010-16.

Awards/Honours: Special One Time Award of ICAR, 1998; Young Scientist Award & Scientist of the Year Award of Bioved Research Centre, 1999 & 2000; ICAR Award for Team Research, 2000 & 2008; Best Young Scientist Award of Dr. Hiralal Choudhuri Fisheries Foundation, 2001; Prof. H.P.C. Shetty Award of AFSIB, 2008; Pillay Aquaculture Award, 2011; Dr. S.Z. Qasim Medal, 2011; Rafi Ahmad Kidwai Award of ICAR, 2013. President, Asian Fisheries Society, Kaula Lumpur, 2016-19; Chairman, Asian Fisheries Society Indian Branch, 2014-21.

Fellow: Zoological Society of India, Bodh Gaya; Academy of Sciences for Animal Welfare; Zoological Society of India, Bhubaneswar; Bioved Research Society and Communication Centre; Academy of Science, Engineering and Technology (FASET), Bhopal; Inland Fisheries Society of India, Barrackpore

Research Areas: Freshwater aquaculture, Population genetics

Address: Deputy Director General (Fisheries Science), Division of Fisheries Science, Indian Council of Agricultural Research, KAB-II, Pusa, New Delhi 110012; B-7, NASC Complex, DPS Marg, New Delhi 110012; [Tel: Off. (011) 25846738, Res. (011) 25842508; Cell: 9453019735; Fax: (011) 25841955; Email: jkjena2@rediffmail.com; jkjena2@gmail.com]

Secretary 1 Jan, 2017 to 31 Dec 2019; Member Executive Council 1 Jan, 2016 to 31 Dec 2016; Dr. P. Bhattacharya Award 2021-2022; NAAS Associate, 2005