Prof. (Dr.) Indrani Karunasagar
Fellow, Elected 2011

Born in Jabalpur, India on 25 June 1952; Educated at St. Joseph's Convent, Jabalpur (1959-64); IAF Avadi Kendriya Vidyalaya (1964-68); B.Sc. Ed. Regional College of Education, Mysore (1968-72); M.Sc. Kasturba Medical College, Manipal (1972-75); Ph.D. Kasturba Medical College, Mangalore University (1985). Post-doctoral experience: British Council Study Fellow, University of Stirling, Institute of Aquaculture, 1990; IOC/DANIDA Fellow, University of Copenhagen, Denmark, 1993; UNESCO Biotechnology Fellow, University of Maryland, USA, 1995; Department of Biotechnology Overseas Associateship, Centre for Marine Biotechnology, Baltimore, USA, 1999; Short term (annually for 3 months) Visiting Professor, University of Wuerzburg, Germany, 2002-06.

Director (R&D), NITTE UNIVERSITY, Director, UNESCO MIRCEN for Medical & Marine Biotechnology & Nitte University Center for Science Education and Research, Dean, Faculty of Biological Sciences, Nitte University, 2014 to date.

Lecturer in Microbiology, 1976-77, Kasturba Medical College, Manipal, Karnataka; Senior Resident, 1977-80, Department of Microbiology, JIPMER, Pondicherry; Assistant Professor of Microbiology, 1982-92; Associate Professor of Microbiology, 1992-2000; Professor and Head, Department of Microbiology, 2000-2014, and Associate Director of Research, Karnataka Veterinary, Animal & Fisheries Sciences University, Mangalore, Karnataka, 2012-14. Member, International Jury for UNESCO prize for Research in Life Sciences; Member, National Scientific Advisory Council of DBT, Government of India; Chairperson, Research Committee, Sri Devaraj Urs Academy of Higher Education & Research, Kolar; Member, Board of Management, Central Institute of Fisheries Education; Member, Subcommittee on Food Hygiene and Fish & Fishery products, Food Safety & Standards Authority of India; Member, Editorial Board, Journal of Microbiological Methods Member, Institutional Biosafety Committee, School of Life Sciences, Manipal University, Manipal; Member, Task Force for Centre of Excellence in the area of Aquaculture and Marine Biotechnology, DBT, Government of India; Scientif Advisor, International Foundation of Science, Sweden; Member of the QRT, CIBA; Faculty, International Life Science Institute, Singapore and Faculty, National Academy of Science, USA; Served several national and international Committees including FAO/WHO Joint Expert Committee on Microbiological Risk Assessment (JEMRA), FAO Expert Committee on Fish Health and Quarantine, WHO committee of Water management in shellfish harvesting areas, Task Forces of Ministry of Science and Technology, Indian Council of Agricultural Research, Review Committees of National Institutes and Research Advisory Committees of Central Institutes; Member, Several Academic and Research Advisory Councils; Editor, Aquaculture and Biotechnology, Science Publisher, USA; Editor, Marine Biotechnology-EOLSS-Encyclopedia.

Awards/Honours: Recognition Award, Asian Fisheries Society, 2017; Research and Academic Excellence Award, Hindustan University, 2017; Sir. M. Visvesvaraya Award for excellence in research and life time contribution to Science and Technology, Govt. of Karnataka, 2014; National Technology Development Award, DST, 2014; Eminence in Aquatic Virology National Award, Asia Pacific Association of Virologists, 2013; Dr. T.S. Vasundhara Memorial Oration Award, 2012, Defence Food Research Laboratory, Mysore; Dr. J.V. Bhat Endowment Oration Award, 2012, Manipal University, Manipal; TVR Pillay National Award, Indian Fisheries Forum, 2008; Rafi Ahmed Kidwai Award, ICAR, 2006; M.S. Swaminathan Award, Professional Fisheries Graduate Forum, Mumbai, 2009, 2004; Lifetime achievement - National Women Bioscientist Award, DBT, 2003; Vyas Memorial Lecture Award, Association of Microbiologists of India, 2002; Laljee Godhoo Smarak Nidhi Award, Association of Food Scientists and Technologists, 1997; Outstanding Women Scientist Award, ICAR, 1997; Distinguished Alumnus Award, Kasturba Medical College, Manipal, 1990; Young Scientist Award, Karnataka Association for Advancement of Science, 1986.

Fellow: National Academy of Microbiologists, 2014

Research Areas: Aquaculture Biotechnology including biomolecules from invertebrates, fish and shellfish health management, environment management, functional genomics of shrimp, molecular methods for rapid detection of viruses associated with fish and shrimps, anti viral strategies, bacterial pathogens of fish and shellfish, vaccines for aquatic animals, phage therapy, pathogenicity and pathogenesis of microorganisms of public health significance, Marine toxins, toxic dinoflagellates, bacterial algal interactions, risk assessment of pathogens associated with seafood.

Address: Director (R&D), Nitte University, Director, UNESCO MIRCEN for Medical & Marine Biotechnology & Nitte University Center for Science Education and Research, Head, Faculty of Biomedical Sciences, University Enclave, Medical Sciences Complex, Deralakatte, Mangalore 575018 Karnataka; 'Shuba-Meena', Jayanagar 1st Main, Kulshekar P.O., Mangalore 575005, Karnataka; [Tel: Off. (0824) 2204300/301/302; Res. (0824) 2439750; Cell: 09448479750; Fax: (0824) 2204308; Email:;]