Dr. Anjani Kumar

Born in Lakhisarai, Bihar, India on 14 November, 1969. Educated at Village Govt. School, 1983; TNB College, Bhagalpur, 1985; B.Sc. Agriculture (1990) from BHU Varanasi; M.Sc. (1992), Ph. D. (1999) from NDRI, Karnal.

Senior Research Fellow, International Food Policy Research Institute, New Delhi, 2020 to date.

Senior Scientist (Agricultural Economics), 2005-2007, ILRI-Asia Office, International Livestock Research Institute (ILRI), Nairobi, Kenya; Senior Scientist (Agricultural Economics), 2006-2010, and Principal Scientist (Agricultural Economics), National Centre for Agricultural Economics and Policy Research, New Delhi, 2010-2012; Principal Scientist (Economics) - Markets, Institutions and Policies, 2012-2014, International Crops Research Institute for Semi-Arid Tropics, Hyderabad, Andhra Pradesh, India 2012-14; Research Fellow, 2014-2020, International Food Policy Research Institute, New Delhi.

Awards/Honours: Rafi Ahmed Kidwai Award-2017; ICAR National Fellow 2010; Indo-US Norman E. Borlaug International Agricultural Science & Technology Fellowship, 2008; Lal Bahadur Shastri Young Scientist Award for Biennium 2003-04; Best Paper Award in South Asia Regional Conference of IAAE 2005; Dr. R.T. Doshi Foundation Award for Best Paper published in Agricultural Economics Research Review, 2003, 2010 and 2012; Dr. R.T. Doshi Foundation Award for Best Presentation, 2000 and 2001; Vice-President, Indian Society of Agricultural Economics, 2013-15, 2019-21, Associate Editor, Journal of Agribusiness in Developing and Emerging Economies, 2017 to date; Treasurer, Agricultural Economics Research Association, 2013 to date.


Research Areas: Agricultural Policy, Food Safety, Institutional innovations, Food Security, Poverty and Nutrition, and Rural Financing

Address: Senior Research Fellow, International Food Policy Research Institute, CG Block, NASC Complex, Dev Prakash Shastry Marg, Pusa, New Delhi 110012; C-1009, Crescent Apartment, Plot No. 2, Sector 18A, Dwarka, New Delhi 110078; [Tel: Off. (011) 42244545; Cell: 9911106918; Fax: (011) 42244549; Email: anjani.kumar@cgiar.org]

Member Executive Council 1 Jan, 2023; NAAS Associate 2008; Young Scientist Award 2001-2002