Prof. Ashok Kumar

Born in Village Choki-2, Haryana, India on 20 March 1958. Educated at Government High School, Musepur, Haryana, 1970-74; CCS Haryana Agricultural University, Hisar, 1974-81; The University of Leeds, Leeds, United Kingdom, 1987-90; B.Sc. (Hons.) Agriculture 1979 & M.Sc. Agronomy 1981; Ph.D. 1990.

Dean, Faculty of Agricultural Sciences, SGT University, Gurugram, 2020 to date

Assistant Professor, 1982-95; Associate Professor, 1995-2003, Professor, 2003-18, Director, Seed Farm, 2008-11, Senior Coordinator, 2013-14; Principal, College of Agriculture, CCS Haryana Agricultural University, Hisar, 2017-18; Principal (Agriculture), Chandigarh Group of Colleges, Jhanjeri (Mohali), Punjab, 2018; Consultant Faculty, CCS Haryana Agricultural University, Hisar, 2019-20; Dean, School of Agricultural Sciences, Raffles University, Japanese Zone, Neemrana, Rajasthan, 2020

Awards/Honours: Commonwealth Academic Staff Scholarship, UK, 1987-90; ICAR Team Research Award, 1987-88; Certificate of Appreciation by CCS HAU, Hisar, 1991 & 1995; Silver Jubilee Award, CCS HAU, Hisar, 1995; FAO Fellowship, 1998; Secretary, Haryana Agronomists Association (2000-03); Editor, Haryana Journal of Agronomy (2000-03); Member, American Association for Advancement of Science (2001); Visiting Fellow, Japan International Research Center for Agricultural Sciences (JIRCAS), 2003-04 & 2004-05; J.C. Bose Gold Medal, 2006; Felicitation Award, Haryana Agricultural University Alumni Association, Hisar, 2007; Ch. Devi Lal AICRP Award (All India Coordinated Network Project on Arid legumes, CAZRI), 2008; International President's Award for Iconic Achievements, I.B.C., Cambridge, U.K., 2010; Shiksha Rattan Purskar, Indian International Friendship Society, New Delhi, 2012; Certificate of Appreciation, District Administration, Karnal, Haryana, 2014; Gold Medal, Indian Society of Agronomy, 2016; Rastriya Garauv Award, Indian International Friendship Society, New Delhi, 2017; Lifetime Achievement in Agronomy, Venus International Foundation, Chennai, 2017; Principal of the Year Award, Institute of Scholars (InSc), Bengaluru, 2020; Reviewer Excellence Award, Indian Journal of Agricultural Research, ARCC, Karnal, 2021; Reviewer Excellence Award, Agriculture Reviews, ARCC, Karnal, 2022; Shri Guru Govind Singh Memorial Award, The Society for Academic Research for Rural Development (SARRD), 2022.

Fellow: Indian Society of Plant Physiology; Indian Society of Agronomy

Research Areas: Agronomy of field crops and crop physiology, water and high temperature stress management, education management, quality assurance and reforms in agronomy education, transfer of technology

Address: Flat No. 1104, Block-C, Mapsko Paradise, Sector 83, Gurugram 122004, Haryana; [Tel: Cell: 9416674542, 9295848947; Email:]