Dr. Trilochan Mohapatra

Born in Kharibil, Cuttack, India on 20 April 1962. Educated at Laxmi Narayan High School, Eranch, Cuttack, 1973-78; Ravenshaw College, Cuttack, 1978-80; Orissa University of Agriculture and Technology, Bhubaneswar, 1980-85, Indian Agricultural Research Institute, 1985-91; B.Sc. 1985; M.Sc. 1987; Ph.D. 1992.

Former Secretary to Government of India, Department of Agricultural Research & Education (DARE) and Director General, Indian Council of Agricultural Research (ICAR), New Delhi, 2016 to 2022.

Scientist, 1992-99, Senior Scientist, 1999-2005, and Principal Scientist, 2005-12, National Research Centre on Plant Biotechnology, IARI, New Delhi; Director, Central Rice Research Institute, Cuttack, Odisha, 2012-15; Director, Indian Agricultural Research Institute, New Delhi, 2015-16.

Awards/Honours: INSA Young Scientist Award, 1994; INSA Prof. L.S.S. Kumar Memorial Award, 1994; NAAS-Tata Young Scientist Award, 2001; IARI B.P. Pal Memorial Award, 2002; DBT National Bioscience Award, 2003-04; NASI-Reliance Industries Platinum Jubilee Award 2007; Indian Science Congress Platinum Jubilee Lecture 2014; Lifetime Achievement Award of the Indian Genetics Congress 2015; Shri Om Prakash Bhasin Award 2016; IMS Diamond Jubilee Memorial Award 2016; Dr. D. Sundaresan Memorial Oration Award 2017; Dr. Amrik Singh Cheema Award 2017 by the Young Farmers Association, Punjab; NASI Dr. B.P. Pal Memorial Lecture Award 2017; Life Time Achievement Award 2017 by the Indian Society of Agricultural Biochemists; Life Time Achievement Award 2017 by the Society for Community Mobilization and Sustainable Development; Dr Pranakrushna Parija Award 2018 by the Parija Memorial Society; Lifetime Achievement Award by the IUFOST 2018; Dr. N.G. Ranga Memorial Award by Andhra Pradesh Science Congress 2017; Associate Editor, BMC Genetics, 2011 to 2016, Associate Editor, Journal of Genetics, 2012-14; D.Sc. (honoris causa) from 12 different universities. Contributed to global agriculural R&D as : (i) Vice-Chair, Governing Board of ICRISAT, Hyderabad; (ii) Vice-Chair, Executive Council, APAARI, Bangkok; (iii) Member, CGIAR System Council, and (iv) Member, Board of Trustees of ICARDA, Lebanon; Biovarsity International, Rome and IRRI, Philippines.

Fellow: National Academy of Sciences, India; Indian National Science Academy

Research Areas: Molecular genetics and genomics

Address: Room No. 106, Krishi Anusandhan Bhavan II, Pusa Campus, New Delhi 110012; [Tel: Cell: 7840000542; Email: tmnrcpb@gmail.com]

President 1 Jan, 2020 to 31 Dec, 2022; Vice President 1 Jan, 2019 to 31 Dec, 2019; Member Executive Council 1 Jan, 2016 to 31 Dec, 2018; Recognition Award 2013-2014