Dr. Ayyanadar Arunachalam

Born in Sivakasi on 8 May 1970. Educated at Ayya Nadar Janaki Ammal College (Madurai Kamraj University), Sivakasi, 1987-92; North-Eastern Hill University, Shillong, 1992-1996; B.Sc. 1990, M.Sc. 1992; Ph.D. 1997; Diploma in Environmental Pollution 1998; Diploma in ISO14000/14001 and Environmental Management 1999.

Director, ICAR-Central Agroforestry Research Institute, Jhansi 284003, Uttar Pradesh, 2020 to date.

Adjunct Positions - PG Faculty in Indian Agricultural Research Institute, New Delhi; Adjunct Professor in Navsari Agricultural University, Gujarat; Honorary Professor, Amity University, Noida; Visiting Professor at Tamil Nadu Agricultural University, Coimbatore; Adjunct Professor, Doon University, Deha Dun; Visiting Professor at Arunachal University of Studies; Adjunct Professor, Karunya University, Coimbatore; Graduate Faculty, Florida Agricultural and Mechanical University, USA; Member - Environmental Impact Assessment Authority, Government of Arunachal Pradesh Lecturer/Assistant/Associate Professor in Forestry, North Eastern Regional Institute of Science & Technology, Nirjuli (Arunachal Pradesh), 1996-2009; Principal Scientist & Assistant Director General (International Relations), Indian Council of Agricultural Research, New Delhi, 2009-2020; Visiting Fellow in Biodiversity Monitoring at Jawaharlal Nehru Centre for Advanced Scientific Research, Jakkur (1998-99); DST-BOYSCAST Fellow (post-doc) in Restoration Ecology at University of Massachusetts, Boston, USA (2000-01); Visiting Fellow in Biodiversity Program at Rajiv Gandhi Central University, Arunachal Pradesh (2003-09; 2015); Principal Scientist, 2009-10, ICAR Research Complex for NEH Region, Umiam (Meghalaya); Member, State Level Appraisal Committee on Environmental Impact Assessment, Government of Arunachal Pradesh, 2009-15; Principal Scientist, 2010-12, NRM Division, ICAR H.Q., New Delhi; Principal Scientist, 2012-to date, Office of the Secretary, DARE & Director General, ICAR, Krishi Bhawan, New Delhi; Assistant Director General (International Relations), 2018-to date, ICAR, Krishi Bhawan

Awards/Honours: DST-Visiting Fellowship in Biodiversity, Jawaharlal Nehru Centre for Advanced Study in Science & Technology, Jakkur, 1998-99; DST-BOYSCAST Fellowship in Restoration Ecology, University of Massachusetts, Boston (USA), 2000-01; Dr. K.G. Tejwani Award for Management of Natural Resources (biennium 2002-03), Indian Association of Soil and Water Conservationists; Pran Vohra Award in Agriculture and Forestry Sciences (2003-04), Indian Science Congress Association; Environmentalist of the Year award (2008), National Environmental Science Academy; Eminent Scientist of the Year award (2012), National Environmental Science Academy; Prof. Ramdeo Misra Best Scientist in Forest Ecology, Bose Science Society, TNSRO; Renowned Biodiversity Science Award 2013, Association for Advancement of Biodiversity Science, Dharwad; Award for Excellence in Research, EET CRS Science & Technology Awards-2013, New Delhi; Dr. K.G. Tejwani Award for Excellence in Agroforestry Research & Development (biennium 2011-12), Indian Society of Agroforestry, Jhansi; Dr. J. Venkateswarlu Award for Excellence in Dryland Agriculture Research for the year 2017; Dr. APJ Adbul Kalam Award and Gold Medal 2018; Dr. M.S. Swaminathan National Award for Outstanding Research in Hill Agriculture (Biennium 2017-18); Scientific Tamil Excellence Award 2018; Dr. S. Radhakrishnan Education Excellence Award 2018; Professor H.S. Srivastava Gold Medal 2016; APSI-International Plant Scientist Award 2015 by the Academy of Plant Sciences, India; Distinguished Scientist Award 2017 in Food and Agricultural Sciences; Leading Educationist of India Award 2018; Bharat Jyoti Puraskar 2018; Best Indian Golden Personalities Award 2018; Bharat Excellence Award, Rashtriya Vikas Ratan Award, Rashtriya Samman Puraskar Award & Gold Medal; Best Citizen of India Award and Life Time Achievement Award(s) by several professional organizations; Secretary, Society for Science of Climate Change and Sustainable Environment, New Delhi (2018-20); Treasurer, National Institute of Ecology, Delhi (2018-2020); General Secretary (interim), National Environmental Science Academy, New Delhi (2014); Secretary, Society for Science of Climate Change and Sustainable Environment, New Delhi (2018-20); Vice President, Society for Science of Climate Change and Sustainable Environment, New Delhi (2015-17); Vice President, Agricultural Scientific Tamil Society, New Delhi (2015-17); Vice President, Global Warming Research Centre, Kolkata (2015-17); Vice President, Indian Society of Agroforestry (2018-2020); Member: Board of Management, Arunachal University of Studies, Arunachal Pradesh and Board of Studies in Forestry, Mizoram University. Chief Editor, Indian Journal of Hill Farming (IAHF, Umiam); Editor, Journal of Agricultural Extension and Rural Development (Academic Journals Ltd.), Climate Change and Environmental Sustainability (indianjournals.com); Associate Editor, Journal of Ecology and Environmental Sciences, International Journal of Ecological Economics and Statistics; Editorial Board Member in International Journals: Agriculture, Ecosystems and Environment (2006-15); Journal of Food, Agriculture and Environment, Finland; Recent Patents in Food, Nutrition and Agriculture, USA; Asian Journal of Microbiology, Biotechnology and Environmental Science and Dataset Papers in Ecology.

Fellow: National Academy of Agricultural Sciences, New Delhi; National Academy of Biological Sciences, Chennai; National Academy of Dairy Sciences, Karnal; National Environmental Science Academy, New Delhi; Indian Academy of Environmental Sciences, Hardwar; Academy of Forest and Enviornmental Sciences, Dehradun; Academy for Environment & Life Sciences, Agra; International Society of Tropical Ecology, Varanasi, India; International Society of Conservation of Nature, Varanasi, India; International Science Congress Association, India; International Conference on Environment and Ecology, Kolkata; International Benevolent Research Foundation, Kolkata; National Institute of Ecology, New Delhi; Range Management Society of India, Jhansi; National Environmental Association, Ranchi; Association for Advancement of Biodiversity Science, Dharwad; Bose Science Society, TNSRO, Tamil Nadu; Bioved Research Society, Allahabad; Society for Environment and Development (India), Gurgaon; Biologists Forum of India, Chennai; Society for Science and Nature, Lucknow; Indian Institute of Oriental Heritage; Institute of Integrated Resource Management, Tezpur, India

Research Areas: Agroforestry, Restoration Ecology & Natural Resource Management

Address: Director, ICAR-Central Agroforestry Research Institute, Jhansi 284003, U.P.; Director’s Bungalow, ICAR-Central Agroforestry Research Institute, Jhansi 284003, U.P; [Tel: Off. (0510) 2730214; Cell: 9212441230; Fax: (0510) 2730364; Email: arun70@gmail.com; arun.icar@yahoo.com]

NAAS Associate, 2010