Dr. Ajay Kumar Parida
Fellow, Elected 2007

Born in Bhagabanpur, Odisha, India on 12 December 1963. Educated at Jagulaee High School, Kotapur, 1972-78; N.C. College, Jajpur 1979-83; Ravenshaw College, Cuttack, 1983-85; Delhi University, Delhi 1986-92; Ph.D. 1992.

Director, Institute of Life Sciences, Bhubaneswar, 2017 to date.

Senior Scientist, 1993-1997, Principal Scientist, 1997-2003, Director (Biotechnology), 2003-13, and Executive Director, M.S. Swaminathan Research Foundation, Chennai, Chennai, 2009-2016; Visiting Research Scholar, Univ. College of Wales, Aberystwyth, UK, 1988; Visiting Scientist, University of Naples, Italy, 1995; Visiting Fellow, IRRI, Philippines, 2004.

Awards/Honours: ISCA Umakant Sinha Memorial Award, 2000; B.M. Birla Science Award, 2003; National Biosciences Award, 2006; NASI-Reliance Award, 2009; TATA Innovation Fellowship, 2010; T.S. Sadasivan Memorial Lecture Award, 2012; Padma Shri by Government of India, 2014; Samanta Chandrasekar Award, 2014; Prof. M. G. K. Menon Lecture, 2017.

Fellow: National Academy of Sciences, India, 2006.

Research Areas: Plant biotechnology, transgenics and molecular breeding

Address: Director, Institute of Life Sciences, (An autonomous Institution under DBT, GOI), Nalco Square, Bhubaneswar 751023, Odisha; [Tel: Off. (0674) 2301900, 2300324; Cell: 9444024019; Fax: (0674) 2300728; Email: director@ils.res.in; drajayparida@gmail.com]

Recognition Award, 2011-2012