Dr. Balraj Singh Parmar

Born in Hoshiarpur, Punjab, India on 30 September 1944. Educated at Government High School, Ferozepur, 1959; College of Agriculture, Ludhiana, 1959-64; College of Agriculture, Hisar, 1964-65; Indian Agricultural Research Inst., New Delhi, 1965-69; Biologische Bundesanstalt, Braunschweig, Germany, 1977-79; Punjabi University, Patiala (Correspondence), 1979-80; B.Sc. 1963; M.Sc. 1965; Ph.D. 1969; Post-doctorate, 1979; P.G. Diploma in Personnel Mgmt. Industrial Relations, 1981.


Head, Division of Agricultural Chemicals, 1987-93 & 1998-2005, Professor, Division of Agricultural Chemicals, 1993-98, Joint Director, Research, 2005-06, and Scientist Emeritus, 2006-08, IARI, New Delhi.

Awards/Honours: IARI Seth Lachhiram Chudiwala Award, 1970; BBA, Germany, Best Foreign Scientist, Citation, 1979; ICFRE Neem Award, 1996; IARI Best Teacher Award, 1997; ICAR Rafi Ahmed Kidwai Award, 1999-2000; IARI Dr. P.B. Sarkar Memorial Lecture Endowment Award, 2000; Society of Pesticide Science Recognition Certificate, 2001; ICAR Bharat Ratan Dr. C. Subramaniam Award for Outstanding Teacher, 2004-2005; IARI Rao Bahadur Dr. B. Viswanath Award for outstanding contribution in agriculture, 2004-05; Organizing Committee of IUPAC sponsored 1st International Conference on Agrochemicals - Felicitation Certificate, 2008; NRDC Innovation Award, 2010; Ministry of Chemicals and Fertilizers 5th Technology Innovation Award for Polymers in Agriculture, 2015 (Team). Honoured by International Plant Protection Congress (IPCC 2019) for outstanding contributions in Plant Protection in India, 2019. Member, Editorial Board, Pest Management Science, U.K. 2004 onwards.

Fellow: Society of Pesticide Science, India.

Research Areas: Agro-chemicals, pesticide formulation, botanical pesticides

Address: 337, Mandakini Enclave, Alaknanda, New Delhi 110019; [Tel: Res. (011) 40666511; Cell: 9868373507; Email: parmar.balraj9@gmail.com; balrajparmar33@yahoo.com]

Treasurer 1 Jan, 2000 to 31 Dec, 2003; Recognition Award 1997-1998; Dr. K.C. Mehta Memorial Award 2001-2002