Dr. Rajendra Singh Paroda

Born in Ajmer, Rajasthan, India on 28 August 1942. Ph.D., Indian Agric. Research Inst., New Delhi, 1964-68. Commonwealth Post-Doctorate Fellow, Univ. College of Wales, Aberystwyth, UK, 1968-70.

Chairman, Trust for Advancement of Agricultural Sciences, New Delhi, 2002 to date.

Director, National Bureau of Plant Genetic Resources, New Delhi, India, 1985-87; Deputy Director General (Crop Science), ICAR, 1987-92; Regional Plant Production and Protection Officer, FAO-RAPA, Bangkok, Thailand, 1992-94; Secretary, Department of Agric. Research and Education, GOI and Director General, Indian Council of Agric. Research, 1992-01; Chair, Global Forum on Agricultural Research (1998-2002); Head, CGIAR Program for Central Asia & Caucasus, Tashkent, Uzbekistan, 2001-2007; Assistant Director General (Int. Coop.), ICARDA, 2007; Executive Secretary, Asia Pacific Association of Agricultural Research Institutions (APAARI), 1993-2014 and Chairman, Haryana Farmers' Commission, 2010-2014.

Awards/Honours: Rafi Ahmed Kidwai Prize, 1982-83; ICAR Team Research Award, 1983-84; Fedn. of Indian Chamber of Commerce and Industry Award, 1988; Om Prakash Bhasin Award, 1992; Asia Pacific Seed Assn. Award, 1995; FAO World Food Day Award, 1995; Padma Bhushan, Govt. of India, 1998; Gen. President, Indian Science Congress Association, 2000-2001; Dr. B.P. Pal Memorial Award, 2001-02; D.Sc. (h.c.), Ohio State Univ., I.A.R.I., and Agricultural Universities of Pantnagar, Kanpur, Jorhat, Coimbatore, Hyderabad, Udaipur, Varanasi, Srinagar, Meerut, Bhubneshwar, Ludhiana, Dharwad, Jabalpur, Hyderabad, Sabour and Jobner; Gold Medal - Armenia (2006) and Vietnam (2012); Borlaug Award, 2006; Agriculture Today Lifetime Achievement Award 2008; 1st Dr. A.B. Joshi Memorial Award, 2012; Prof. Kannian Memorial Award, 2012; Krishi Siromani Samman by Mahindra and Mahindra Ltd. 2013; Vaigyanik Drishtikon Society Samman 2013, the first U.S. Awasthi IFFCO Award and cash prize by Fertilizer Association of India (FAI) 2017; Ch. Amir Singh Lifetime Achievement Award by the Indian Society of Seed Technology 2019; Dr MS Swaminathan Award for environment protection by Rotary Club of Madras 2020.

Fellow: Indian National Science Academy; Indian Academy of Sciences; Russian Academy of Agricultural Sciences; Third World Academy of Sciences; Academies of Agricultural Sciences of Armenia, Georgia, Tajikistan, Hon. Member of Crop Science Society of America and Agronomy Society of America.

Research Areas: Genetics & plant breeding, cytogenetics, biometrical genetics, genetic resources

Address: Chairman, Trust for Advancement of Agricultural Sciences, Avenue II, IARI Campus, New Delhi 110012; C-597, Sushant Lok - 1, Gurugram 122002, Haryana; Vill. P.O. Sardhana, District: Ajmer, Rajasthan; [Tel: Off. (011) 25843243 telefax; Res. (0124) 4089343; Cell: 9810191486; Email: raj.paroda@gmail.com; taasiari@gmail.com]

Founder Member Executive Council 5 Jun, 1990 to 30 Dec, 1991; Member Executive Council 1 Jan, 2001 to 31 Dec, 2004 and 1 Jan, 1992 to 31 Dec, 1996; Vice-President 1 Jan, 1996 to 31 Dec, 1996; President 1 Jan, 1997 to 31 Dec, 2000; Dr. B.P. Pal Memorial Award 2001-2002; Dr. A.B. Joshi Memorial Lecture Award 2019-2020