Dr. Kuruppacharil V. Peter

Born in Kumbalangi, Cochin, India on 17 May 1948. Educated at St. Peters High School, Kumbalangi, 1961-64; Maharaja's College, Ernakulam, 1964-66; Agricultural College and Research Institute, Vellayani, Trivandrum, 1966-69; G. B. Pant University of Agriculture and Technology, Pantnagar, 1969-75; B.Sc. 1969; M.Sc. 1971; Ph.D. 1975.

Director, ICAR-Indian Institute of Spices Research, Calicut, 1991-99; Director of Research, 1999-2001, and Vice-Chancellor, 2001-06, Professor 1979-2008, Kerala Agricultural University, Trichur.

Awards/Honours: Dr. Harbhajan Singh Award, 1993; Rafi Ahmed Kidwai Award, 1996-98; Silver Jubilee Medal, 1998; Silver Jubilee Memento, 1998; Dr. M.H. Marigowda National Award, 2000; DBT National Award for Processing and Product Development, 2003; HSI-Shivasakthi Lifetime Achievement Award, 2008; PNASF Gold Medal Award, 2009; IIHR Scientists Recognition Award, 2010. Suganda Bharati Life Time Achievement Award by Indian Society of Spices Calicut; The KRLCC Award 2016; CHAI Life Time Achievement Award, 2017; CHAI Honorary Fellowship, 2017; Associate Editor, Agricultural Research, 2012 to date; Author and Editor, Horticulture Science series; VEGNET International Award, 2018, Guru Puja Purushkaram, 2018; President, Indian Society of Vegetable Science, Varanasi; President, Kerala Chapter, National Academy of Sciences, Prayagraj.

Fellow: National Academy of Sciences, India; Indian Society of Genetics and Plant Breeding; Indian Society of Vegetable Science; National Academy of Biological Sciences; Indian Academy of Horticulture Sciences;International Society of Noni Science.

Research Areas: Vegetable breeding, spices improvement, genetics & plant breeding, biometrics

Address: Kuruppacharil House, TC-12 (17)/1309 (447), P.O. Mannuthy, Thrissur 680651, Kerala; [Tel: Res. (0487) 2963017; Cell: 9446513017, 7994894235; Email: peter.kv@gmail.com; kvptr@yahoo.com]

Member Executive Council 1 Jan, 1999 to 31 Dec, 2001; Recognition Award 1999-2000; Dr. K. Ramiah Memorial Award 2007-2008