Prof. Appa Rao Podile

Born in Guntur, Andhra Pradesh, India on 3 March 1960. Educated at Zilla Parishad High School, Tullur, Guntur, 1970-75, Hindu College, Guntur, 1975-80; B.Sc., Nagarjuna University, M.Sc., and Ph.D. Sardar Patel University, Vallabh Vidyanagar Gujarat, 1983-87.

Senior Professor, University of Hyderabad 2019 onwards; Vice-Chancellor, University of Hyderabad, 2015 to 2021; Professor, Department of Plant Sciences, School of Life Sciences, University of Hyderabad, 2004 to date; Tata Innovation Fellow (DBT); Member, International Research and Training Group on "Molecular and Cellular Glycosciences".

Research Associate, Bhavnagar University, 1987-1988; Lecturer, 1989-1998, and Reader, University of Hyderabad, 1999-2004. Post Doctoral Fellow, Institute of Botany, Academia Sinica, Taiwan, 1998; Visiting Professor, Institute of Molecular Biology, Academia Sinica, Taiwan, 2000. Adjuct Chair Professor in Biotechnology, Asia University, Taichung, Taiwan 2019 onwards.

Awards/Honours: M.Sc. Gold Medal, Sardar Patel University; DST Young Scientist, 1988; Rajib Goyal Young Scientist Award in Agricultural Sciences, Goyal Foundation, Kurukshetra, 1998; Outstanding Plant Pathologist Award, Indian Society of Mycology and Plant Pathology, Udaipur, 2005; Prof. K.M. Rao Lecture Award, University of Madras, 2010; Prof. G. Rangaswami Award in Agricultural Microbiology, Association of Microbiologists of India, 2013; Best Faculty Researcher Award, Indian Chitin Chitosan Society, 2014. Member, DBT Task Force on "Biofertilizers and Integrated Nutrition Management" 2006-2011; Member DBT Task Force on "Bioagents for Agriculture" 2011-2016; Associate Editor, Australasian Plant Pathology, 2011-2016; President, Central Chapter, Indian Phytopathological Society; Vice President, Asian PGPR Society for Sustainable Agriculture; Member, Central Council, Association of Microbiologists of India (2011-2016); Platinum Jubilee Lecture, Indian Science Congress Association, 2015; Sita Mahalaxmi Memorial Lecture, AP Akademy of Sciences, 2016; Tata Innovation Fellowship, (DBT), 2015-2018; President, Association of Microbiologists of India, 2017/18; Millennium Plaques Honour, Indian Science Congress Assocaition, 2017; D.Sc., h.c., Ram Manohar Lohiya Avadh University, Faizabad, 2017; J C Bose Fellowship (DST), 2018 onwards.

Fellow: Indian National Science Academy; Indian Academy of Sciences; National Academy of Sciences, Allahabad; Association of Microbiologists of India; Association of Biotechnology and Pharmacy; Telangana Acadmy of Sciences; Andhra Pradesh Akademi of Sciences; Indian Phytopathological Society

Research Areas: Biological Control, Chitinases, Chitooligosaccharide Elicitors, Induced Resistance, Non-Host Resistance, and Plant Growth Promoting Rhizobacteria (PGPR)

Address: Senior Professor, Department of Plant Sciences, School of Life Sciences, University of Hyderabad, Prof. C.R. Rao Road, Hyderabad 500046, Telangana; A56, CPR- Bella Vista Nallagandla, Hyderabad 500046, Telangana; [Tel: Off. (040) 23134503; Cell: 9100655777, 9490749922; Fax: (040) 23010121; Email:;]

Member Executive Council 1 Jan, 2021; Dr. K.C. Mehta Award 2017-2018