Prof. A.T. Rao
Fellow, Elected 1999

Born in Paralakhimundi, India on 21 July 1940. Educated at Maharaja's Boys' High School, Paralakhimundi, 1951-56; Sri Krushna Chandra Gajapati College Paralakhimundi, 1956-58; Orissa Veterinary College, Bhubaneswar, 1958-62; Indian Veterinary Research Institute, Izatnagar, 1964-66; Haryana Agricultural University, Hisar, 1974-77; B.V.Sc and A.H. 1962; M.V.Sc. 1966; Ph.D. 1977.

Professor & Head, Department of Veterinary Pathology, Orissa University of Agriculture & Technology; Emeritus Scientist, ICAR.

Awards/Honours: P.R.K. Iyer Memorial and Ganti A. Sastry Gold Medals for publishing best research articles, 1992 & 1994; Dr. C.M. Singh Gold Medal 1996; Dr. R.R. Sukla Award; Best Teacher Award, 1995 and 1996-97; Sri Ramlal Agarwala National Award, 1996-97; Dr. P.P. Gupta Oration Award, 2003; Lifetime Achievement Award, 2012, OUAT, Bhubaneswar for commendable services rendered to Teaching, Research and Administration; Felicitation for lifetime contribution to Wildlife Management by Association of Indian Zoo and Wildlife Veterinarians and Centre for Wildlife Health, OUAT, Bhubaneswar, 2013; Rastriya Gaurav Award by India International Friendship Society and selected for Best Citizens of India Award, 2017.

Fellow: National Academy of Veterinary Sciences; Indian Association of Veterinary Pathologists; Chartered Member, Indian College of Veterinary Pathologists.

Research Areas: Veterinary pathology - wildlife diseases, avian pathology, herbal medicine

Address: Plot No. 1021/44, Lingaraj Nagar, Bhubaneswar 751002, Odisha; [Tel: Res. (0674) 2590783; Cell: 9437025509; Email:]