Dr. Chandragiri Nagaraja Rao Ravishankar

Born in Chandragiri, Karnataka, India on 20 April 1963. Educated at College of Fisheries, Mangalore, UAS, Bangalore for B.F.Sc. 1984; M.F.Sc. 1986; Ph.D. 1990; Certificate Course on "Managing Sustainable Projects and Programmes" at Development and Project Planning Centre, University of Bradford, United Kingdom, 1997; Certificate Course on HACCP at Royal Institute of Public Health and Hygiene, London, UK, 1997; Post Graduate Diploma in Technology Management in Agriculture, University of Hyderabad, 2013.

Director and Vice-Chancellor, ICAR-Central Institute of Fisheries Education since Jan 2022.

Scientist, 1991-96; Scientist-Senior scale, 1996-2000; Senior Scientist, 2000-2008; Principal Scientist, 2008 onwards; Head, Fish Processing Division, and Head-in-Charge, Engineering Division, ICAR - Central Institute of Fisheries Technology, Cochin, 2011-14. Director, ICAR-Central Institute of Fisheries Technology (CIFT), Kochi, Kerala (Aug. 2014 to Jan. 2022).

Awards/Honours: University Gold Medal for securing First Rank in PhD (Fish Processing Technology) - University of Agricultural Sciences, Bangalore; HACCP Merit Certificate, Royal Institute of Public Health & Hygiene, London, UK; TCT Award in Fish Processing Technology, Department for International Development, UK; Dr. L.C. Sikka Endowment Award of National Academy of Agricultural Sciences, New Delhi for the Biennium 2019-20; ICAR Team Research Award, 2002; K. Chidambaram Memorial Award, Fisheries Technocrats Forum, Chennai; Best Indian Fisheries Scientist, PFGF, Certificate of Appreciation from DG, ICAR - For establishing Incubation centre and commercialization of fisheries technologies, NAIP; National Award for Best Agri-Business Incubator for the year 2013 during AgriTex 2013; SKOCH Order of Merit Award for qualifying amongst Top 30 transformational innovation projects in India, 2017; SKOCH Evergreen Platinum Award 2018 and Order-of-Merit for initiatives on `Green, Clean and Affordable Energy: Multi-purpose Solar Conversion System'; Indian Agribusiness Excellence Award 2018;`Low Cost Technology Award' from AFSTI for contribution towards development of best low cost technology in the field of Food science and Technology or allied areas; Future Kerala Educational Excellence Award 2018; EduNext Excellence Award for Research and Development 2018;Kerala State Energy Conservation Commendation Certificate 2018, Govt. of Kerala; Kerala State Renewable Energy (Akshaya Oorja) Award and commendation certificate in appreciation of the achievements towards research and innovation initiatives on renewable energy resources; During the tenure as the Director, ICAR-CIFT won the Sardar Patel Outstanding ICAR Institution Award 2018 for the third time.

Chairman, FSSAI Scientific Panel on Fish and Fish Products; Chairperson, Food Hygiene Safety Management and Other Systems Sectional Committee, FAD 15 of BIS; Chairman, National Policy for Post-Harvest Processing and Marketing, NFDB, Ministry of Fisheries, Animal Husbandry & Dairying; Chairmn, Nodal Authority for developing Approved Standard Deep Sea Fishing vessel (DSFV) Design and Specification (ASDDS), Ministry of Ports, Shipping and waterways, GoI; Chairman, Working group on Fish Processing sector in Kerala-Constraints to growth and Suggestions for reforms by Kerala State Planning Board, Govt. of Kerala; Head of Delegation for the 35th session of Codex Committee on Fish and Fishery Products (CCFFP35);Director, Lakshadweep Development Corporation Limited; Head of National Reference & Referral Laboratory on Fish and Fishery Products, Ministry of Health and Family Welfare; Technical Assessor, National Accreditation Board for Testing and Calibration of Laboratories; Acted as Chairman of Lab Research Council, Defence Food Research laboratory, DRDO, Mysore.

Member of the Governing Body of ICAR Society;Member of Scientific Committee, FSSAI, Ministry of Health and Family Welfare; Member, Committee for drafting National Fisheries Policy, Department of Fisheries, Ministry of Fisheries, Animal Husbandry & Dairying; Member of Technical Advisory Committee for Promotion and Development of Seaweed Farming and Value Chain, Ministry of Fisheries, Animal Husbandry and Dairying; Member of Committee to assess the requirements of common incubation facilities for Incubation Centres set up under PM FME Scheme, MoFPI; Member, Food &Agriculture Division Council, BIS;Member, Transport Engineering Division Council, BIS; Member, Textile Division Council, BIS; Member, MPEDA Authority, Cochin; Member, Academic Council&Extension Council, CIFE, Mumbai; Member, Executive Committee, Kerala Agricultural University; Member, National Steering Committee, Network for Scientific Co-operation for Food Safety & Applied Nutrition, FSSAI; Member, Executive Committee, NETFISH, MPEDA, Ministry of Commerce; Member, Industrial Advisory Board, Department of Food Science and Technology, KUFOS; Member, Technical Committee, Review the duration of Fishing Ban period, Dept. of Fisheries, Ministry of FAH & D; Member, Standing Committee on Marine Mammal Protection Act (MMPA), Department of Commerce; Member, Planning Board, Tamil Nadu Fisheries University; Member, Indian Network for Fisheries and Animal Antimicrobial Resistance, FAO-ICAR, New Delhi. Member Executive Council, NAAS, 1 Jan, 2022; Member, Core committee on agriculture working group under G-20 India, D/o Agriculture and Farmers Welfare, GoI; Member, Core Committee of the experts to suggest modalities for ARS Selection.

Fellow: Association of Food Scientists and Technologists (India); Society of Fisheries Technologists (India); Karnataka Science & Technology Academy

Research Areas: Post Harvest Technology of Fish, Fish Processing and Packaging Technology, Food Science and Technology, Food Safety, Agri-business Management, Intellectual Property Rights

Address: Director and Vice-Chancellor, ICAR-Central Institute of Fisheries Education, Panch Marg, Off. Yari Road, Versova, Andheri (west), Mumbai 400061, Maharashtra; [Tel: Off. (022) 26363404, 26374306; Cell: 9446474368; Email: cnrs2000@gmail.com; director@cife.edu.in]

Member Executive Council 1 Jan, 2022; Shri L.C. Sikka Endowment Award 2019-2020