Dr. Tilak Raj Sharma

Born at Hamirpur (H.P.), India on 20 May 1965. Educated at Govt. High School, Ladrour, Hamirpur (H.P.), 1978-80; College of Agriculture, HPKV, Palampur; 1980-90; University of Alberta, Edmonton, Canada, 1994-1996; B.Sc. (Ag.) 1985; M.Sc. 1987; Ph.D. 1990; Post Doc. 1994-96.

DDG (Crop Science), Indian Council of Agricultural Research w.e.f. Jan 2020 to date.

Assistant Professor, Biotechnology Centre, HPKV, Palampur, 1991-99; Senior Scientist (Biotechnology), 1999-2007; Principal Scientist, 2007-2014, and Project Director, ICAR-National Research Centre on Plant Biotechnology, IARI, New Delhi, 2014-2017; Executive Director, National Agri-Food Biotechnology Institute (NABI), Mohali, Jan, 2017 to Jan 2020 and CEO, Centre of Innovative and Applied Bioprocessing, Mohali Aug 2017 to Jan 2020. DBT Overseas Associate, 1994-96, University of Alberta, Edmonton, Canada; Visiting Scientist, Genome Research Centre, Cold Spring Harbor Laboratory, New York, USA, 2001; Visiting Scientist, CSHL,USA, 2004.

Awards/Honours: University Gold Medel and Certificate of Honour in Ph.D, 1990; ICAR Young Scientist Award (Crop Sciences), 1999; Prof. M.J. Narasimhan Academic Merit Award IPS, 1999; ISCA Prof. Umakant Sinha Memorial Award, 2001; International World Technology Award for Biotechnology (jointly to Int. Rice Genome Sequencing Team), The World Technology Network, 2003; DBT National Bioscience Award 2007; VASVIK Award 2011; Rafi Ahmed Kidwai Award, ICAR, 2012; NASI-Reliance Industries Platinum Jubilee Award, 2013; DST- J.C. Bose National Fellowship, 2013& 2019; Professor KS Bilgrami Memorial Medal, INSA, 2018.

Fellow: Indian National Science Academy; National Academy of Sciences, India.

Research Areas: Plant Disease Resistance, Genomics and Bioinformatics

Address: DDG (Crop Science), Indian Council of Agricultural Sciences, Room No. 14, Krishi Bhawan, New Delhi 110001; [Tel: Cell: 9818386057; Email: trsharma1965@gmail.com; ddgcs.icar@nic.in]

NAAS Associate, 2005; Young Scientist Award 1997-1998; Recognition Award 2007-2008