Prof. Kadambot Hamza Mohamed Siddique

Born in Kodungallore, Kerala, India; Educated at KVGHS High School, Eriyad, Kerala 1968-71; St. Thomas College, Trichur; Kerala 1971-73; BSc (Ag), Kerala Agricultural University (KAU), Trivandrum, 1973-77; MSc Indian Agricultural Research Institute (IARI), New Delhi 1977-79; PhD The University of Western Australia 1981-84.

Hackett Professor of Agriculture Chair and Director of The UWA Institute of Agriculture, The University of Western Australia (UWA), Perth, Western Australia, Australia, 2012 to date.

Winthrop Professor of Agriculture Chair & Director, The UWA Institute of Agriculture, The University of Western Australia 2006-2012, Director and Professor (Crop Science), Centre for Legumes in Mediterranean Agriculture (CLIMA), Faculty of Natural and Agricultural Sciences, The University of Western Australia 2001-2006, Leader, Pulse Productivity Program, Department of Agriculture Western Australia 2000-2001, Principal Pulse Agronomist/Physiologist, Department of Agriculture, WA and Sub-Program Leader, CLIMA, The University of Western Australia 1996-2001, Senior Pulse Agronomist/Physiologist, Department of Agriculture Western Australia, 1992-1996, Cereal Physiologist, Department of Agriculture, Western Australia 1985-1992, Research Associate, International Centre for Agricultural Research the Dry Areas (ICARDA), Aleppo, Syria 1980-1981.

Awards/Honours: Western Australian Scientist of the Year 2023, Sanqin Friendship Award, the highest honour that the Shaanxi Provincial Government in China 2023, Appointed Lanzhou University Cuiying Chair Professor in the School of Ecology 2023, Finalist for the Western Australian Scientists of the Year 2022 Award, The Australian’s 2022 and 2021 Research magazine listed Professor Kadambot Siddique as the nation’s “Top Researcher” in the field of Botany, Elected as Foreign Fellow of the Pakistan Academy of Sciences (FPAS) 2021, Received the Western Australian Indian of the Year award from the Federation of Indian Associations of Western Australia 2021, Received The Friendship Award from the Chinese Central Government (highest award for a foreign expert) for outstanding contributions to agricultural science and education in China over 20 years 2019, Received the excellence award for community service from the World Malayalee Council 2019, First Australian to be elected as a Fellow of the African Academy of Sciences 2018, Received the Global Agricultural Research Leadership Award from the Indian Council of Food and Agriculture (ICFA) for contributions to dryland agriculture 2017, Honoured by the Government of India Federal Minister for Agriculture for outstanding contributions to global pulses research and development 2016, Received the Grains Industry Association of Western Australia (GIWA) award for lifetime contribution to the pulse industry 2016,             Designated Special Ambassador by the UN FAO for the International Year of Pulses 2016, Named among The Knowledge Nation 100—in The Australian newspaper’s The Deal Magazine as the ‘stars of the Australian innovation constellation’ 2015, Elected as the Foreign Fellow of the Indian National Academy of Agricultural Sciences (FNAAS) 2015, Elected as the International Fellow of Indian Society of Plant Physiology for outstanding contributions in the field of plant physiology and cognate sciences 2015, Received the Western Australian of the Year Award (Professions category) for contributions to agricultural science and the farming community 2014, Honoured with a prestigious Dunhuang Award by China’s Gansu Provincial Government for outstanding contributions to research and leadership within Gansu Province, especially at Lanzhou University 2013, Elected as a Fellow of the Agriculture Institute of Australia (FAIA) for outstanding contributions to professional agricultur 2013, Awarded the prestigious Hackett Professor of Agriculture Chair at The University of Western Australia 2012, Awarded a Member of the Order of Australia (AM) in the Queen's Birthday Honours List, recognising a lifetime’s work in advancing agricultural science as an academic and researcher in crop improvement and agronomy, and through contributions to professional associations 2011, Received a gold medal and citation from the former President of India, Dr APJ Abdul Kalam, for international contributions to agricultural science and education 2009, Elected as a Fellow of the Australian Academy of Technological Sciences and Engineering (FTSE) for outstanding contributions to Australian and international agriculture, particularly innovative research and leadership in production agronomy, crop physiology, germplasm development and breeding of grain legumes (pulses) and cereal crops of benefit to the grains industry in Australia and overseas 2005, Received the prestigious Urrbrae Memorial Award for contributions to Australian agricultural science and industry 2001.

Research Areas: Agriculture, crop physiology, agronomy, genetics and breeding, abiotic stresses, farming system, conservation agriculture; higher education and capacity building in agriculture and related areas

Address: Hackett Professor of Agriculture Chair & Director, The UWA Institute of Agriculture, The University of Western Australia, 35 Stirling Highway, CRAWLEY WA 6009 Australia; [Tel: Off. (61) 8 6488 7012; Cell: (61) 411155396; Email:]