Dr. Gurbachan Singh

Born in Bhaini Maraj, India on 16 September 1954. Educated at Akal Higher Secondary School, Mastuana, 1968-71; Punjab Agricultural University, Ludhiana 1971-78 & 1983-88; B.Sc.(Ag.) 1975; M.Sc. (Agronomy) 1978; Ph.D.(Agronomy) 1988; D.Sc. (Honoris Causa), OUAT, Bhubaneswar, 2012.

Scientific Advisor, International Foundation for Science, Sweden, 1996 to date; FAO Cactus Net Regional Coordinator for West Asia, 2004 to date; Member, ICID Working Group on Sustainable Drainage, 2007 to date.

Scientist SI (Agronomy), Senior Scientist (Agronomy), Principal Scientist (Agronomy), Central Soil Salinity Research Institute, Karnal 1978-98; Principal Scientist (Forestry/Agroforestry), National Research Centre for Agroforestry, Jhansi, 1998-2000; Head, Division of Crop Production, Indian Grassland and Fodder Research Institute, Jhansi; 2000-01; Assistant Director General (Agronomy), ICAR, New Delhi, 2001-05; Director, Central Soil Salinity Research Institute, Karnal, 2005-10; Agriculture Commissioner, Government of India, New Delhi, 2010-11; Chairman, Agricultural Scientists Recruitment Board, New Delhi, 2011-17.

Awards/Honours: Hari Om Ashram Trust Award, 1989; CAZRI Dr. K.A. Shankarnarayan Award, 1993-94; IARI Tenth Sukumar Basu Memorial Award, 1995-96; Rafi Ahmed Kidwai Award, 1996-98; Sardar Patel Outstanding ICAR Institution Award, 2009; Ground Water Augmentation Award of Ministry of Water Resources, 2010; Life Time Achievement Award by High Tech Horticultural Society of India, 2012; NDRI Dr. D. Sundaresan Memorial Oration Award, 2012; Haryana Ratna Award by National Integrated Council of Artists and Activities, 2013; Bioved Ratna Award by Bioved Research Institute of Agriculture and Technology, Allahabad, 2014; Award of Honour by Chief Minister of Punjab, 2014; Harit Ratna Award by All India Agricultural Students' Association, 2014; Amit Prabudh Manishi Award by ASM Foundation, New Delhi, 2015; NDRI Dr. K.K. Iya Memorial Oration Award, 2016; Special Achievement Award, 2016 by Indian Council of Food and Agriculture; Lifetime Achievements Award, 2016 by Range Management Society of India; Debadghao Memorial Lecture Award, 2016 by RMI of India. Vice Chairman, TAAS, New Delhi, 2017; President, Indian Society of Soil Salinity and Water Quality 2008-11; President, Indian Society of Agronomy 2013-16; Chairman, RC of Central Insecticide Board & Registration Committee 2010-15; Vice President, Farming System Research and Development Association of India 2003-05; Honorary Member, Editorial Board of Experimental Agriculture; and Advisory Board of Indian Journal of Dryland Agricultural Research and Development; 2003-05; Director, Board of Directors, National Seed Corporation, New Delhi, 2010-11; Chairman, Technical Committee of Central Seed Certification Board, 2010-11; Member, Board of Directors, HLRDC, Chandigarh, 2005-2009; Board of Management, IARI, New Delhi, 2010-11; Management Committee of National Institute of Agricultural Extension Management, Hyderabad, 2010-11; Management Committee of NOVOD Board, New Delhi, 2010-11; Chairman (Acting), Protection of Plant Varieties and Farmers Rights Authority of India, 2011; Institute Management and Research Advisory Committees of CAZRI, Jodhpur; CRIDA, Hyderabad; NRC on Weed Science, Jabalpur and PDCSR, Modipuram, 2001-2005.

Fellow: Indian Society of Agronomy; Indian Society of Soil Salinity and Water Quality (Honorary); Indian Society of Soil and Water Conservationists; Range Management Society of India, Indian Society of Agroforestry; Honorary Fellow Arid Zone Association of India.

Research Areas: Agroforestry, agronomy, wasteland rehabilitation, drought management, climate change, agriculture development and policy

Address: Chairman, Gurbachan Singh Foundation for Res. Education and, Development (GSFRED), Beant Villa, Adjacent Adarsh, Public School, Near Power House, Kunjpura Road, Karnal 132001, Haryana; [Tel: Off (0184) 2265621; Cell: 9991113600, 9971167767; Email: dr.gurbachan@gmail.com; info@gsfred.org]

Dr. M.S. Randhawa Memorial Award 2013-2014; Recognition Award 2005-2006