Dr. Rajendra Singh
Fellow, Elected 2002

Born in Allahabad, India on 8 August 1963. Educated at S.K. Intermediate College, Allahabad, 1970-80; Allahabad Agricultural Institute, 1980-85; Indian Institute of Technology, Kharagpur, 1985-87; B.Sc.(Agril. Engg.) 1985; M.Tech. 1987; Ph.D. 1993; Advanced Research, Danish Hydraulic Institute, Denmark, 1995-96; Post-Doctoral Research, University of Connecticut, USA, 1999-2000; Boyscast Fellowship, 1995.

Brahmaputra Chair Professor for Water Resources, Indian Institute of Technology (IIT), Kharagpur, 2009 to date.

Junior Scientist, 1987-89, Lecturer, 1989-94, Assistant Professor, 1994-99, Associate Professor, 1999-2003, Indian Institute of Technology (IIT), Kharagpur; Mathematical Modelling Expert, State Water Resources Agency (World Bank funded UP Water Sector Restructuring Project), Lucknow, 2004-2005; Professor, Indian Institute of Technology (IIT), Kharagpur, 2003-09; Dean (Undergraduate Studies), Indian Institute of Technology (IIT), Kharagpur, 2013-16.

Awards/Honours: Jawaharlal Nehru Award, 1994; Basant Rao Naik Memorial Gold Medal, 1997; ICAR Young Scientist Award, 1997; AICTE Career Award for Young Teachers, 1998. Visiting Researcher, Technical University, Dresden, Germany, 2001,2002 & 2003; Visiting Researcher, University of Guelph, Canada, 2007; Visiting Professor, Potsdam University, Germany, 2008; Visiting Professor, Waikato Institute of Technology, New Zealand, 2012.

Research Areas: Hydrological Modelling, Irrigation System Management

Address: Professor, Agricultural & Food Engineering Department, Indian Institute of Technology, Kharagpur 721302, W.B.; A-161, IIT Campus, Kharagpur 721302, W.B.; [Tel: Off. (03222) 283148; Res. (03222) 283149; Cell: 09434016968; Fax: (03222) 282244; Email: rsingh_iit@rediffmail.com; rsingh@agre.iitkgp.ernet.in]

Recognition Award, 2013-2014