Dr. Cherukumalli Srinivasa Rao

Born in Anigandlapadu, Krishna district of Andhra Pradesh on 4 October 1965. Educated at ZP High School, Anigandlapadu, 1975-80; SGS College, Jaggaiahpet, 1980-82; Agricultural College, Bapatla, 1982-88; Indian Agricultural Research Institute, New Delhi, 1988-92; Tel-Aviv University, Israel, 1998-99; B.Sc (Ag) 1982; M.Sc(Ag) 1988; Ph.D 1992; Post-Doctoral 1999.

Director, ICAR-National Academy of Agricultural Research Management, Rajendranagar, Hyderabad, 2017 to date.

Scientist, Indian Institute of Soil Science, Bhopal, 1992-98; Senior Scientist, Indian Institute of Pulses Research, Kanpur and Central Research Institute for Dryland Agriculture, Hyderabad, 2003-06; Principal Scientist, 2006-13 and Project Coordinator, All India Coordinated Research Project for Dryland Agriculture, Central Research Institute for Dryland Agriculture, Hyderabad (CRIDA), Hyderabad, 2013-14; Deputation to International Crop Research Institute for Semi Arid Tropics, Patancheru, 2006-2008; Director, ICAR-Central Research Institute for Dryland Agriculture, Hyderabad, 2014-17.

Awards/Honours: Rafi Ahmed Kidwai Award for Outstanding Research in Agricultural Sciences, 2019 in the field of Natural Resources Management and Agricultural Engineering (2019); Ch. Dimag Singh Award from Astha Foundation, Meerut, U.P; (2019); Life Time Achievement Award from Andhra Pradesh Akademi of Sciences, Amaravati, Andhra Pradesh (2019); Dr Rajendra Prasad Puraskar Award of ICAR 2018; Best Emerging Technology Business Incubation Centre Award, by DST, GoI, 2018; Digital Media Award of PRSI-2017; Hindi Regional Rajbhasha Award, 2016 by Ministry of Home Affairs; Chairman, Standing Technical Committee, National Mission for Sustainable Agriculture (NMSA) 2014 onwards; Sardar Patel Outstanding Research Institute Award of ICAR - 2014; Rajashri Tandon Rajbasha Puraskar - 2013-14; 2015-16; Hari Om Ashram Trust Award of ICAR 2014; Padmasree Dr. I.V. Subba Rao Memorial Award from Rithunestam, 2012; FAI Golden Jubilee Award, 2011; Vasantrao Naik Award of ICAR, 2009 & 2014; Sukumar Basu Memorial Award of IARI, 2009; International Plant Nutrition Institute Prize 2008; ICRISAT Millennium Science Award, 2008; Doreen Mashler Award by ICRISAT, 2007; ISPRD Recognition Award, 2006-2007; Dhiru Morarjee Memorial Award of FAI, 1993 and 2003; PPIC-FAI Award, 2006; Pran Vohra Memorial Award, 2000 and Dr. B.C. Deb Memorial Award, 2006 of Indian Science Congress Association; International Potash Institute - FAI Award, 1998 & 2012; ISSS Golden Jubilee Young Scientist Award, 1997 ICAR Young Scientist Award, 1998; Certificate of Merit ISCA, 1995; UNFCCC Indian Delegation Member - Bonn, Germany, 2015, 2016; 2019; Indian Delegation Member of 49th Session of Intergovernmental Panel on Climate Change (IPCC), Kyoto, Japan, May 2019; UNFCCC COP-25/CMP-15/CMA-2 Indian Delegation Member, Madrid, Spain, 2019; Chief Editor, Indian Society of Dryland Agriculture, 2009 to 2014; Editor, Indian Society of Soil Science 2014-15; Executive Board Member, International Dryland Development Commission, Cairo, Egypt; Member, Regional Advisory Group, NABARD 2019-20; President of Indian Society of Dryland Agriculture and Development; President, Association for Management of Agricultural Research and Agripreneurship (AMARA), Hyderabad; President, a-Idea (Association for Innovation Development of Entrepreneurship in Agriculture), Technology Business Incubator (TBI); ICAR-NAARM, Hyderabad; Member, Asian Long Term Experimental Network for Agriculture (ALTENA), Tsukuba, Japan; Co-chaired as Nominee of Indian focal point, CDC and Steering Committee of 23rd Intergovernmental Meeting and Science Planning Group Meeting (IGM/SPG Meeting) of Asia Pacific Network for Global Change Research (APN), (Bangkok, Thailand) 2018; Member; Executive Council, National Council for Cooperative Training (NCCT), Ministry of Agriculture & Farmers Welfare, GoI; Member, Advisory Board, The Journal of Research - ANGRAU, Guntur, Andhra Pradesh; Member, ICAR Training Board; Member, Indian Chamber of Food and Agriculture, New Delhi; Member (ICAR Nominee), Board of Management and Academic Council, ANGRAU, Guntur; Andhra Pradesh; Member (ICAR Nominee), Board of Management and Academic Council, PJTSAU, Hyderabad; Member, Working Group of National Agriculture Disaster Management Pan (NADMP), NIDM, Govt. of India; Chairman, Committee for screening ABIs in ICAR, Component-II (Incubation Fund) of NAIF Scheme (2019); Member, Advisory Committee, ICAR-NAHEP Component-2 for Agriculture Higher Education; Member, Advisory Committee of the Initiative for Climate Action Transparency Project on Adaptation (ICTA-A) of The Energy and Resources Institute (TERI), New Delhi; Member, Selection-cum-Standing Committee for Emeritus Scientist Scheme of ICAR (2019-22) Member, ICAR Selection Committee for Netaji Subhas – ICAR International Fellowships – 2019-20; Dr. Tamhane Memorial Lecture of Indian Society of Soil Science, Dr. GS. Sekhon and Dr.MV. Shantaram Memorial Lecture of ISSS, Member, Food and Agriculture Division Council (FADC), Bureau of Indian Standards, Ministry of Consumer Affairs, Food and Public Distribution, Govt of India; Member, Committee on Agricultural Research Service.

Fellow: The National Academy of Sciences, India (NASI), Indian Society of Soil Science; Indian Society of Pulses Research and Development; Telangana Academy of Sciences, Andhra Pradesh Akademi of Sciences.

Research Areas: Climate change, District agriculture contingency planning, Soil carbon sequestration, Participatory soil health management, Dryland agriculture, Agriculture Research Management, Human Resource Management and Agriculture Research Policy

Address: Director, ICAR-National Academy of Agricultural Research Management, Rajendranagar, Hyderabad 500030, Telangana; NAARM House, NAARM Campus, Rajendranagar, Hyderabad 500030, Telangana; [Tel: Off. (040) 24015070, 24581350; Cell: 9848848453; Fax: (040) 24015912; Email: chsrao_director@naarm.org.in; cherukumalli2011@gmail.com]

Nominee of Secretary, DARE / DG, ICAR, 1 Jan, 2019; Recognition Award 2013-2014; Young Scientist Award 1997-1998