Dr. Srinivasan Varadarajan
Fellow, Elected 2002

Born in Bangalore, India, on 31 March 1928. B.Sc. and MA, Univ. of Madras, India, 1943-48; M.Sc., Andhra Univ., Waltair, 1948-49; Ph.D., Univ. of Delhi, 1949-52; 1851 Overseas Exhibition Fellow, Univ. of Cambridge, 1953-56 and Ph.D. Visiting Lecturer-Asst. Prof. Biology, Mass. Inst. Technology, 1956-57; Beit Memorial Fellow in Medical Research University, Cambridge, 1957-59.

Head of Research, Hindustan Lever (Unilever India), 1960-74, Member, Board of Directors, Research and Chemicals Group, 1966-74; Govt. of India Companies: CMD, Indian Petrochemicals Corpn. Ltd., 1974-81; Engineers India Limited, Director 1974-82, CMD 1975-78 and 1981-82; Indian Vaccines Corpn. Ltd., 1991-96; Chairman, Petrofils Polyester 1975-80; Chairman, Bridge and Roof India 1974-83. Secretary, Govt. of India, Department of Science and Technology 1982-84; Dept. of Scientific and Industrial Research and Director General, CSIR 1984-86; Dept. of Biotechnology 1983-86, Member, Public Enterprises Selection Board 1980-86, Chief Consultant, Planning Commission 1986-88, Member, Executive Board, Third World Network of Scientific Organizations (TWNSO),Trieste, Italy 1996-98. Chairman and Member, Scientific Advisory Committees, Govt. of India Petroleum Natural Gas, Biotechnology, Environment and Special committees in areas of Human Nutrition; Application of Science in Preservation of Art Objects, Archaeological Monuments; Chairman, National Committees related to Petroleum Refinery in the region of Taj Mahal and remedies measures 1974 and 1994; Evaluation and execution of steps on elimination of further toxic hazards at the city of Bhopal; Member, Governing Boards: Indian Institute of Science, IIM Ahmedabad 1974-92, Petrotech Society, 1998 to date, National Council of Applied Economic Research, 1981-86 Trustee: Indira Gandhi National Centre for Arts 1985-89, Member, Oxford Energy Policy Club, St. Anthony's College, 1977-81.

Awards/Honours: Om Prakash Bhasin Foundation Award, 1986; Padma Bhushan, 1985; D.Sc. (h.c.); IIT, Madras, Banaras Hindu University, Guru Nanak Dev Univ., Amritsar & Andhra Univ.; D. Litt.; Kanpur University; INSA CV Raman Medal; INAE Lifetime Contribution Award. President, Indian Natl. Science Acad., 1996-98; President, Indian Acad. Sci, 1980-82; President, Indian Natl. Acad. Engg. 1992-95; President, Nutr. Soc. Ind. 1980-82; President, Development of Library Network (DELNET), 1995 to date; Chairman National Committee on Tea Research.

Fellow: Indian Academy of Sciences, 1972; Indian National Science Academy, 1983; National Academy of Sciences, India, 1982; Third World Academy of Sciences; Indian National Academy of Engineering, 1987; Nutrition Society of India; All India Management Association; Society of Engineers.

Research Areas: Energy, Fertilizers, Environment, Chemical Technology, Engineering for Manufacture, Molecular Biology, Biotechnology, R&D and Industry Management, Science Policy

Address: 4A, Girdhar Apartments, 28, Feroz Shah Road, New Delhi 110001; [Tel: Off. (011) 23230828, 23221931; Res. (011) 23712512, 23713137; Fax: (011) 23231095; Email: insa@delnet.ren.nic.in; svaradaraian1928@gmail.com]