Prof. Rajeev K. Varshney

Born in Bahjoi, Moradabad, U.P, India on 13 July 1973. Educated at C.P. Arya Adarsh Inter College, Bahjoi, 1986-1990; Aligarh Muslim University, Aligarh, 1990- 1995; Ch Charan Singh University, Meerut, 1995-2001; B.Sc. (Honours) 1993; M.Sc. 1995; Ph.D. 2001.

Research Program Director-Genetic Gains, 2016 to date & Director - Center of Excellence in Genomics & Systems Biology, 2012 to date; Principal Scientist-Applied Genomics, 2008 to date, International Crops Research Institute for the Semi-Arid Tropics (ICRISAT), Patancheru, India; and Adjunct Professor (Institute of Agriculture), The University of Western Australia (UWA), Perth, Australia, 2010 to date.

Research Program Director-Grain Legumes, 2013-16; Senior Scientist-Applied Genomics, 2005-08; ICRISAT; Research Scientist, Leibniz Institute of Plant Genetics & Crop Plant Research (IPK), Gatersleben, Germany, 2001-05.

Awards/Honours: Shanti Swarup Bhatnagar Prize for Science and Technology (Biological Sciences), 2015 by Govt of India; Certificate and Honor for Outstanding Science Contribution- 2018 by Uttar Pradesh Government; Outstanding Faculty Research Award- 2018 by Carrers360; Highly Cited Researcher by Thomson Reuters for last five years in a row in 2014, 2015, 2016, 2017, 2018; Qilu Friendship Award- 2016 by People's Government of Shandong Province, China; Research Excellence India Citation Award - 2015 by Thomson Reuters; Doreen Margaret Mashler Award-2016 (the most prestigious award of ICRISAT) by ICRISAT Governing Board; IPGI Leadership Award-2017 by the International Peanut Genome Initiative; Young Crop Scientist Award of Crop Science Society of America in 2013; Senior Scientist Award-2015 by Association of Biotechnology & Pharmacy (ABAP), The Illumina Agricultural Greater Good Initiative Award-2013; NASI-Scopus Young Scientist Award-2010; INSA-Young Scientist Medal- 2008 by the Indian National Science Academy (INSA); NASI-Young Scientist Platinum Jubilee Award-2007; ICRISAT Promising Young Scientist Platinum Jubilee Award, 2007 & 2008; AMU Gold Medal, 1995.

Fellow: American Association for Advancement in Sciences (AAAS); German National Academy of Sciences Leopoldina; The World Academy of Sciences (TWAS); Crop Science Society of America (CSSA); Indian National Science Academy (INSA); The National Academy of Sciences, India (NASI); Agronomy Society of America (ASA); Telangana State Akademi of Sciences (TSAS); Association of Biotechnology & Pharmacy (ABAP); Indian Society for Genetics and Plant Breeding; Indian Botanical Society

Research Areas: Applied Genomics and Molecular Breeding

Address: International Chair in Agriculture & Food Security, Food Futures Institute, Murdoch University, 90 South Street, Murdoch, Western Australia 6150; ISH 602/15, ICRISAT Campus, Patancheru 502324, Telangana; [Tel: Cell: +61 893602608; Fax: (040) 30713074, 30713075; Email:;]

Foreign Secretary 1 Jan, 2022; Member Executive Council 1 Jan, 2019 to 31 Dec, 2021; NAAS Associate, 2008