Dr. Bandi Venkateswarlu

Born in Kakaravai, Andhra Pradesh on 1 June 1953. Educated in Government High School, Dendukur, 1964-69; Graduation in Government Science College, Khammam, A.P. 1971-74; Post-graduation in Osmania University, Hyderabad 1974-76. Ph.D, J.N. Vyas University, Jodhpur, India, 1987.

Research Associate, ICRISAT, 1976-77; Scientist S-1/S-2, CAZRI, Jodhpur, 1977-85; Senior Scientist, 1986-98, and Principal Scientist, CRIDA 1998-2001; Principal Production System Scientist, NATP, 2001-06; Head, Division of Crop Sciences, 2006-2008; Director, CRIDA, 2008-14; Vice-Chancellor, Vasantrao Naik Marathwada Krishi Vidyapeeth, Parbhani, 2014-18.

Awards/Honours: Vasant Rao Naik Award of ICAR, 2009; SP Roy Chaudhary Memorial Lecture Award, IISS, 2010; National Ground Water Augmentation Award of MoWR, 2009; FAI Golden Jubilee Award, 2011; e-World Award for IT Applications in Agriculture, 2011; Fakruddin Ali Ahmed Award of ICAR 2012; Vasantrao Naik Pratisthan Award, Mumbai, 2015; M.V. Shantaram Memorial Lecture Award, 2014; Hari Om Ashram Trust Award of ICAR, 2015; 7th International Crop Science Congress Award, 2016; Prof. B. Ram Murthy Lecture Award, 2017; J.N. Mukherjee Memorial Lecture award of Indian Society of Soil Science, 2017.

Adjunct Professor, NAARM, Hyderabad, 2019; Chairman, RAC, CAZRI, Jodhpur, 2019-2022; Member, QRT, NAARM Hyderabad, 2018-19. Co-chair, DBT task force on Agricultural Biotechnology 2018-2021; Member, Scientific and Technical Appraisal and Advisory Group (STAG), DBT, 2018-2021, Co-chair, NER-BPMC Task force 2018-21; Member, Genetic Engineering Appraisal Committee (GEAC), Govt of India 2018-21; Member, PSMC, BioTech-Kisan, 2020-2022, Chairman QRT, CAZRI Jodhpur 2015-16; Chairman, Expert Committee, NICRA Project 2022-2025; Member XII Plan Working Group on NRM, Planning Commission; Member, Executive Committee, MPKV, Rahuri 2019-2022; Member RAC, NAARM, Hyderabad, 2020-22, Member External Advisory Panel, NAHEP, ICAR, 2020-22..

Fellow: Indian Society of Oilseeds Research; Arid Zone Research Association of India; Indian Society of Dryland Agriculture; Andhra Pradesh Akademi of Sciences; Member, New York Academy of Sciences; Life Member, Association of Microbiologists of India; Life Member, Indian Society of Agrometeorology.

Research Areas: Climate change, Abiotic stress management, Soil microbiology

Address: Ex-VC, VNMKV, Parbhani & Ex-Director, ICAR-CRIDA, H No 5-5-552, Plot No 30, Abhyudayanagar, L.B. Nagar, Hyderabad 500074, Telangana; [Tel: Cell: 9652988265; Email: vbandi_1953@yahoo.com; bandi9501@gmail.com]

Member Executive Council 1 Jan, 2015 to 31 Dec, 2017