Dr. Chittranjan Bhatia
Fellow, Elected 1992

Born in Bulandshahar, India on 1 January 1936. Educated at Government High School, Meerut, 1942-49, Meerut College, Meerut 1949-55; Indian Agricultural Research Institute, New Delhi 1957-61; B. Sc. 1953; M. Sc. 1955; Ph.D. 1961.

Research Associate, Indian Agricultural Program, The Rockefeller Foundation, New Delhi, 1961-62; Genetics Department, Agricultural University, Wageningen, The Netherlands, 1962-64; Biology Division, Brookhaven National Laboratory, Upton, Long Island, New York, USA, 1964-66; Scientific Officer, Biology Division, Head, Mutation Breeding Section, Head, Nuclear Agriculture Division, Associate Director and Director, Bio-Medical Group, Bhabha Atomic Research Center, Mumbai, 1966-93; First Officer, Joint FAO-IAEA Division, International Atomic Energy Agency, 1974-76; Secretary to Govt. of India, Department of Biotechnology, 1993-95; Consultant, International Atomic Energy Agency, Vienna 1996, 1998- 99, 2001; Winrock International, 1999.

Awards/Honours: National Academy of Sciences Prof. R. N. Tandon Memorial Award, 1993; INSA S.K. Mitra Memorial Award, 1995; Om Prakash Bhasin Award, 1995.

Fellow: Maharashtra Academy of Science, 1983; Indian Academy of Sciences, 1984; Indian National Science Academy, 1988; National Academy of Sciences, India 1991; Third World Academy of Science, 1992; U.P. Academy of Agricultural Sciences 2016.

Research Areas: Plant genetics and breeding, biotechnology

Address: 17 Rohini, Plot No. 29-30, Sector 9-A, Vashi, Navi Mumbai 400703, Maharashtra; [Tel: Res. (022) 27655178; Cell: 9820502810; Email: crbhatia.bhatia@gmail.com]

Vice-President 1 Jan, 2004 to 31 Dec, 2006; Member Executive Council 1 Oct, 1992 to 31 Dec, 1998