Dr. Arun Kumar Singh
Fellow, Elected 2019

Born in Kharsoma, District Sultanpur, U.P. on 17th November 1962. Educated at N.D. University of Agriculture & Technology, Faizabad (U.P.), B.Sc.(Ag.) 1982, M.Sc.(Ag.) 1985 and Ph.D. 1988.

Head, ICAR Research Complex for Eastern Region Research Centre, Ranchi, 2014 to date; Member, Executive Council, Banaras Hindu University, Varanasi 2018 to date.

Asstt. Scientist, 1989-1994; Asstt. Scientist (S.S), 1994-1998; Scientist/Associate Professor, 1998-2000 at RRS, Dhaulakuan, Sirmour, HPKV, Palampur; Senior Scientist (Hort.), 2000-2008; Principal Scientist (Hort.), 2008-2014 at ICAR-RCER Research Centre, Ranchi; Member of Institute Mangement Committee (IMC), ICAR-RCER, Patna (2014-till date); Member, IMC, ICAR-IINRG, Ranchi (2011-2014); Member, Institute Technology Management Committee (ITMC), ICAR-IINRG, Ranchi (2016-till date); Member, IMC, ICAR-NRC on Litchi, Muzzafarpur (2018-till date); Member Monitoring Team for Release and finalization of Technical programme and Evaluation of AICRP(VC) Trials (2005-2008); Member Secretary, Institute Variety Release Committee, ICAR RCER, Patna (2004-till date); Chairman, Institute Technology Management Unit (ITMU), ICAR RCER, Patna (2017-till date); Co-chairman, Institute Germplasm Identification Committee, ICAR RCER, Patna (2017-till date); Councillor East zone, Indian Society of Plant Genetic Resources (2010-12); Executive Councillor, Indian Society of Vegetable Sciences (2010-2012); President, Horticulture Society of Chotanagpur (2016-till date); Expert Member, Research Advisory Committee, Central Tasar Research and Training Institute, Central Silk Board, Govt. of India, Ranchi (2014-2017); Member, Regional Advisory group (RAG) for farms, farmers and rural areas, NABARD, Jharkhand (2015-till date); Member, State Level Project Sanctioning and Steering Committee under WDF of NABARD, Jharkhand (2016-till date); Member, Technical Committee of Programme Implementation Committee, National Horticulture Mission, Jharkhand (2015-till date); Member, State level Technical committee of Jharkhand Biodiversity Board (2016-till date); Member, JharParks (2018-till date); Member, Task force (Guava & Litchi) (2014) and (Drumstick) (2018), PPVFRA, New Delhi.

Awards/Honours: Fakhrudddin Ali Ahmed Award for Outstanding Research in Tribal Farming System (2013); Krishna Chandra Gupta Memorial Gold Medal (1982); Vice Chancellor’s Gold Medal (1985); Crop Research Award by Agriculture Research Information Centre (2004); Senior Scientists Gold medal Award by Madhawi Shyam Educational Trust (MEST) and International Consortium of Contemporary Biologists (ICCB) (2009); Dr. Biswajeet Choudhary Memorial Award for Outstanding Vegetable Scientist by Indian Society of Vegetable Sciences (ISVS), Varanasi (2017); Distinguished Scientist by Science and Tech Society for Integrated Rural Improvement, (2018).

Fellow: Indian Society of Vegetable Sciences (ISHS), Varanasi and Confederation of Horticulturists Association of India (CHAI), New Delhi.

Research Areas: Vegetable Improvement and Production technology, Integrated farming systems in rainfed areas

Address: Principal Scientist & Head, ICAR-Research Complex for Eastern Region, Research Centre Ranchi, Plandu, P.O. Rajaulatu, Ranchi 834001, Jharkhand; Flat No. 204, Greenfield Pinnacle Apartment, Shukla Colony, Hinoo, Ranchi 834002, Jharkhand; [Tel: Cell: 6204535818, 9835142705; Email: headicarrcerranchi@gmail.com; aksingh171162@rediffmail.com]