Dr. Ram Kewal Singh

Born in Rajepur Dhawan, Ambedkar Nagar, India on 31 March 1962. Educated at Ram Awadh Janta Inter College, Bariyawan, Ambedkar Nagar, 1974-76; B. N. Inter College, Akbarpur, Ambedkar Nagar, 1976-78; Lucknow University, Lucknow, 1978-87; B.Sc. 1980; M.Sc. 1982; Ph. D. 1987.

Assistant Director General ( Commercial Crops), Crop Science Division, Indian Council of Agricultural Research (ICAR), New Delhi, 2016 to date.

Research Associate, 1987-89, Botany Department, Lucknow University, Lucknow; Scientific officer, 1989-97, Senior Scientific Officer, 1997-2000, U.P. Council of Sugarcane Research, Shahjahanpur; Senior Scienist, 2000-05, National Research Centre for Soybean, Indore; Senior Scientist, 2005-08, Principal Scientist, 2008-16, Indian Institute of Sugarcane Research, Lucknow.

Awards/Honours: DST- SERC Visiting Fellowship Award, 1997-98; DBT-National Biotechnology Associateship Award, 1999-2000; DBT-CREST Award, 2012-13; Distinguished Scientist Award, 2014 by Society for Green World for Sustainable Environment; Award of Excellence, 2019 by Society for Sugar Research & Promotion; Academic Excellence Award, 2019 by Indian Institute of Sugarcane Research, Lucknow; Outstanding Scientist Award, 2020 by The Society for Science of Climate Change and Sustainable Environment.

Fellow: Indian Society of Genetics & Plant Breeding; Society for Sugar Research and Promotion; International Society for Noni Science; The Society for Science of Climate Change and Sustainable Environment; Society for Conservation & Resource Development of Medicinal Plant; Royal Association for Science-led Socio-cultural Advancement.

Research Areas: Genetic, genomics and molecular breeding

Address: Assisstant Director General (Commercial Crops), Indian Council of Agricultural Research, Room 213 A, Krishi Bhawan, Dr. Rajendra Prasad Marg, New Delhi 110001; C-403, NASC Complex, DPS Marg, New Delhi 110012; [Tel: Off. (011) 23384323; Cell: 9450930028; Fax: (011) 23384323; Email: adgcc.icar@nic.in; ikrps@yahoo.com; ikrps62@gmail.com]

Dr. N.G.P. Rao Endowment Award 2019-2020