Dr. (Ms.) Subbaraya Uma

Born on 1st June, 1962 at Bengaluru, B.Sc. (Horticulture), 1983, M.Sc. (Floriculture and Landscaping), 1985, University of Agricultural Science, Bengaluru; Ph.D. (Horticulture), University of Agricultural Science, Bengaluru, 1990 and Post Doctoral Fellowship, 2003-04, KUL, Leuven, Belgium.

Director, ICAR - National Research Centre for Banana, Tiruchirapalli, Tamil Nadu.

Scientist, 1990-95, ICAR-IIHR, Bengaluru; Senior Scientist, 1995-2007 and Principal Scientist, 2007- 19, ICAR-NRCB, Tiruchirapalli, Tamil Nadu.

Awards/Honours: Life Time Achievement Award for Germplasm Conservation in Musa by Bioversity International, France, 2004; Pisang Rajah Award, by Bioversity International, France & BAPNET, Philippines, 2009; Punjabrao Deshmukh Best Woman Agricultural Scientist Award by ICAR, New Delhi, 2009; Shri Girdhari Lal Chadha Memorial Gold Medal in Fruit Science by Horticulture Society of India, 2011; Dr. MH. Marigowda National Endowment Award for Best Horticultural Research - 2018 by University of Agricultural Sciences, Bangalore, 2018; Dr. Kalayya Krishnamurhty National Award for Best Agricultural Research - 2019-20 by University of Agricultural Sciences, Bangalore in 2020; as Director, ICAR award - Sardar Patel award for the outstanding institute award (small Category); CII_ Cold Chain Award for the year 2022; Best Woman Researcher Award by Dinamalar Tamil Daily group of Publications, 2011; Kadali Puraskar Award by AIPUB, 2003; Biodiversity Conservation Award - 2019 by Dr. B. Vasantharaj David Foundation, Chennai, 2019; Sir J.C. Bose Memorial Award for the contribution in the field of Horticulture and Plant Biotechnology by the Indian Science Monitor, Chennai, 2019.

Chair - The Banana Asia Pacific Network (BAPNET) - 2020-23 & BAPNET Representative, Bioversity International, France; Steering Committee Member - World Banana Forum, FAO - 2018; Member of the External Advisory Board (EAB) for the Banana - University of Wagenhein, Netherlands, 2020; National Consultant (Tissue culture) FAO, Rome -2001-04; Member of Editorial Board - Indian Journal of Horticultural Sciences, 2012-15; Member of Editorial Board - Current Horticulture, 2017; Member - Executive Council - AIPUB since 1997; General Secretary - AIPUB, 2005-2007; Treasurer - AIPUB, 1997-2005

Fellow: Horticulture Society of India (HSI); Indian Society of Plant Genetic Resources (ISPGR); Association for the Improvement, Utilization and production of Banana (AIPUB); Confederation of Horticultural Associations of India(CHAI)

Research Areas: Horticulture, Genetic Resources, Breeding and Tissue culture using Bioreactors

Address: Former Director, ICAR-National Research Center for Banana, Thayanur Post, Thogamalai Road, Tiruchirapalli 620102, Tamil Nadu; No.6, 6th Cross, 8th Main Road, Srinivasanagar South, Vayalur Road, Tiruchirapalli 620017, Tamil Nadu; [Tel: Off. (0431) 2618125; Cell: 9444090393; Email: umabinit@yahoo.co.in]

Dr. (Ms) Prem Dureja Endowment Award 2019-2020