Dr. Annadana Seetharam

Born in Horahally, Bangalore, India on 3 June 1943. Educated at Municipal High School, Kanakapura, Bangalore 1955-58; Government Intermediate College, Bangalore 1958-59; Agriculture College, Bangalore 1959-63; Agriculture College, Dharwad, 1963-65; Indian Agricultural Research Institute, 1965-68; B.Sc. 1963; M.Sc. 1965; Ph.D. 1968.

Assistant Cytogeneticist, 1970-72; Geneticist (Sunflower), UAS, Bangalore, 1972-79; Associate Coordinator 1980-86, S4 Scientist 1985-86, Principal Scientist and Project Coordinator 1986-2003; Emeritus Scientist, 2003-05, Project Coordination Cell, All India Coordinated Small Millets Improvement Project (ICAR), University of Agricultural Sciences, Bangalore.

Awards/Honours: R.D. Asana Endowment Award, 1980; Citation, University of Agricultural Sciences, Teachers Association 1982; Chairman, International Small Millets Steering Committee 1986-93; O.P.Bhasin Award 1998, Distinguished Alumni Award, UAS, 2003; Dr. Harbhajan Singh Memorial Lifetime Achivementard, Award, ISPGR, 2005-06; Outstanding Teacher Award, Rotary, Bangalore and Karnataka Civil Defense Corps 2013; Dr.N.G.P. Rao Memorial Endowment Lifetime Achievement Research Award, 2021; Poshak Anaaj Award -2022, IIMR, Hyderabad; President,Indian Society of Millets Research, 2013. Fellow: Indian Society of Oilseeds Research; Indian Society of Genetics and Plant Breeding; Indian Society of Plant Genetic Resources.

Research Areas: Crop Improvement, Cytogenetics, Breeding of oilseeds and millets, plant genetic resources management

Address: Flat No. 20133, Tower 20, Prestige Ferns Residency, Haralur Road, Off Sarjapur Road, Bengaluru 560102, Karnataka; [Tel: Res. (080) 24484097; Cell: 9880483696; Email: annada.seetharam@gmail.com]