Prof. Mahendra Pal Yadav

Born in Surkhuroo, Bulandshahar (UP) India on 2 June 1945. Educated at A.S. Inter College, Jahangirabad 1955-56; Chaubisa Inter College, Mohana, Bulandshahar 1957-59; DAV Inter College, Aligarh 1960-62; B.R. College, Agra 1962-63; B.V.Sc & AH 1966 & M.V.Sc. 1968: Veterinary College Mathura; Ph.D.1973 Indian Veterinary Research Institute, Izatnagar.

Professor Virology, 1981-82; Prof. & Head, Div of Virology, 1982-87, Indian Veterinary Research Institute (IVRI), Mukteswar; Principal Scientist & I/c Animal Health, 1987-93; Director, 1993-2000, National Research Centre on Equines, Hisar; Director, IVRI, Izatnagar, 2000-06; Vice-Chancellor, Sardar Vallabhbhai Patel Univ. of Agric. & Tech., Meerut, 2006-09.

Awards/Honours: Chancellors Medal 1966: Lance Award, 61 Cavalry, India 1996; ICAR Special Award 1998; OIE International Meritorious Award 2000; Distinguished Veterinarian Award 2002 of IAAVR; Dr. P. Richard Masillamony Oration Award 2003; Higher Education and Development International Award 2004; Order of Merit Award in Management 2004; Swadeshi Vigyan Puruskar 2004 of Vigyan Bharati; UP Council of Science & Technology Vigyan Gaurav Award 2004-05; NRDC Meritorious Invention Award 2005; World Intellectual Property Organization (WIPO), Geneva Award 2005; Dr. C.M. Singh Samman 2005; IAVPH Life Time Achievement Award 2006; Society of Plant Research Eminence Award 2007; Lakhi Ram Memorial Award 2008; Lalbahadur Shashtri Honor 2008; Padma Vibhushan Dr. M.S. Swaminathan Agricultural Scientist Award 2009; Dr. P.G. Pandey IAVMI Oration Award 2010; ISACP Life Time Achievement Award 2011; Dr. A. Lingard Memorial Award 2012 by Indian Academy of Environmental Sciences; Dr. M.R. Dhanda Memorial Oration Award 2012 of IAPH; Excellence in Virology Award by Indian Virological Society 2013; Felicitation by National Alliance of Indo-Canadians for scientific leadership in the field of Veterinary Science and Livestock Development, Toronto 2015; Dr K.S. Bhargava Memorial Oration Award 2016 (IVS). President, Indian Virological Society 1996-2003; President, IAVMI 1999 to date; President, IAUA 2006-07; President NAVS(I) 2011-13; FAO National Consultant, 2011; Consultant, Haryana Farmers' Commission, 2010-13; Editor of NAAS Journal 'Agricultural Research', 2012-2023. Honorary DSc from IVRI Deemed University-2022. Member Empowered Committee on Animal Health (ECAH) DAHD GoI; NASF (ICAR), Member Expert Working Group of IPC (GoI).

Fellow: National Academy of Veterinary Sciences; Indian Association for Advancement of Veterinary Research; Indian Virological Society; Indian Society of Veterinary Immunology & Biotechnology; Society for Immunology & Immunopathology

Research Areas: Veterinary virology & bacteriology, infectious diseases, vaccinology & biotechnology

Address: Flat 12 C, Tower 7, Central Park II, Bellevue, Sector 48, Sohna Road, Gurugram 122018, Haryana; [Tel: Res. (0124) 4382818; Cell: 9810820093, 8920750043; Email:]

Secretary 1 Jan, 2014 to 31 Dec, 2016; Member Executive Council 1 Jan, 2011 to 31 Dec, 2013; Member Executive Council (Casual Vacancy) 21 Nov, 2009 to 31 Dec, 2010; Dr. P. Bhattacharya Memorial Award 2003-2004